God does not use a roulette wheel

A late evening conversation with a friend across the country surprised me.  “Why would God do this to you?”. Before I could reply she had to leave. 

God did not do this to me.  Bad family genetics; my father passed of a massive stroke at age 54, his father at 38 and my maternal grandmother had a dehabilitating stroke that left her right side affected. Also my diabetes was not under tight control. 

I was blessed that I had been diagnosed with celiac disease on Holy week this year, as I had lost 20 pounds and was doing the right things.  The doctor said if I had not done those things, I would not have the limited movement I do have.

Yes, I admit, I have asked God, “why me?”. Then it comes to me, why not me.  This is truly a learning experience, although at times a frustrating one and I am only in the first week.  There is a lot of road to travel yet.  And there will be times I am going to whine and bitch and moan and be less than filled with joy and grace.  I am God’s child but also very human.  And the great things is God knows this.

So, my friends’ don’t worry.  God does not have a roulette wheel in heaven with our names on it.  He is randomly selecting ailments to inflict upon us.  Our God is a loving God that hates to see us hurt.

Today will be a day of working on my hand and leg exercises and my speech and resting in between.Blessings on your day today. 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “God does not use a roulette wheel

Leave a Reply

