Some fall gracefully some just fall

Each morning I wake up expecting this to be all a bad dream.  I wake up thinking I can walk normally or grab things with my hand but that isn’t the reality.  Yes it will improve but its going to take time and my favorite word…patience. (please note the dripping sarcasm).

I am driving my hubby nuts as I keep on pushing to see what I can do.  He watched me with a mixture of pride, disdain and frustration when I took 20 minutes just to put on my bra.  You can’t even imagine the contortions. 

Today I dropped my cell phone into the couch, he was gone to pick up the kiddos.  So I decide I can kneel and crawl under the couch.  Truth is I can’t, I got stuck on the floor, hoping no one would show up.  I maneuvered myself out only to realize I was stuck.  Felt like a tortoise flipped on its back.  Got up to my knee (singular) and lurched to my foot and immediately toppled forward onto the arm of the couch and back to the floor.  Grrrrr. Finally got onto the couch without the phone, forcing me to sit as my phone rang and chimed under my hiney.

I am keeping my humor, I am definitely relying on my faith and I am so thankful for my friends, family, churches (plural here) and most of all my Abba, daddy.  As I was reminded “be still and know he is God” and “I will praise you in the storm.”

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Some fall gracefully some just fall

  1. As I read about your efforts to get up and the trials and errors in doing so I was reminded of the day I fell in the kitchen and broke my ankle. I finally was able to get to the phone and call for help. I don’t rember asking God for help but reading your blog I realized he must have been there for me. Thank you for sharing your faith.
    When you were talking about your problems walking and leaning to the right I was terrified you were having a stroke at that time. Then to read that you have had a stroke and the areas affected I feel bad for you but am so glad you got help in time to recover.
    I will pray for God to be with you as you walk the long road to recovery. God Bless and keep you Dawn.

    Mark Fraser

    Like

Leave a Reply

