Two steps forward, one step back

Paula Abdul and Skat Cat have been playing that song in my head today.  I feel like I could have an Ally McBeal moment anytime.  Am I dating myself by those references? 

After great progress with my left hand and arm, today it has decided to act like a petulant 2 year old having a tantrum.  I tell my hand what to do and it lays there not doing a thing at all..OK maybe it’s acting more like a teenager.  My blood pressure is fine, my blood sugar is fine..my hand is just on its own break.  I am on bed rest today.  Now that makes me sound old or pregnant.  These setbacks apparently will happen from time to time.  It is maddening!!

I also am my children’s own party trick.  Remember the Chinese finger traps?  We know have the Dawn Marie do it yourself finger trap.  What is that, you might ask?  Well, it’s when you wake up from a nap and that pesky uncooperative left hand has balled into a tight fist.  Your healthy right hand goes to unclench that pesky left hand and in so doing you right finger is caught in fist of steel. Since leftie isn’t listening to brain signals, righties forefinger is stuck tightly. Thus eliciting a call for help, hilarious laughter from the family and cries of “do it again”.

I am envious of the zombies on television, they are dead but have both arms that work.  Tomorrow is another day.  Been talking and praising my Abba for tomorrow to be a bit better…and he tells me, “who loves ya baby…I do”.  Never knew God watched Kojak. 

Friends, love one another, don’t hesitate to share that love and embrace the gifts our Abba has given each of us.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

