Waiting, going slow and the attack of the therapists

Sigh..doctor not in yet. I have been poked and prodded by the nurses. I have answered all 300 questions; some identical, some repetitive, some new and a few strange. I have ate breakfast and lunch. Been asked about my bowels (I’m sorry to say that me and my bowels are very private and at times shy).
The night nurse stole, OK maybe stole is strong, my underwear, so at times my bare hiney is shocking people. I guess its a good thing we are in the stroke/cardiac unit.

I have had all 3 therapist come in, one after another. I think its planned but they all act shocked to see one another. I have walked about 25 feet with PT, had OT watch me go o the bathroom (apparently I have a shy bladder too) and then speech realized I could talk and she signed me off.

Hand still has a mind of its own and refuses to obey me, I tried to bribe it with a nice manicure but to no avail. Leftie did want to close up and had a wrestling match with righties. Ron was forced to come in and referee and separate the combatants. A rolled up wash cloth was just placed in lefties amazing grip to avoid the grip of steel.

Dr just in…it was another stroke, the area where the first stroke is was very damaged. The MRI tomorrow will determine where exactly where this stroke was. As the doctor said I have lousy vessels. The area where the first stroke was small but in a crucial area. It is an area which if surgery done could cause more harm. We are changing meds and monitoring me.

I love Dr Callison for his humor, his honesty and his bedside manner, but he and I have agreed after this time we do not want to see each other again. I have shed a few tears this afternoon. Will shake it off now and move forward.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Waiting, going slow and the attack of the therapists

Leave a Reply

