The chaplain knocks when I am naked

After our news of verification of stroke two and possibilities of more, Ron and I were a bit somber.  The clinical partner once referred as LPN or nurses aid offered to let me bathe.  Of course their version of a bath is sitting on the side of the bed naked as jaybird with a pan of water, soap and washcloth.  I am enjoying the joy of water on my body and a knocks comes to the door. I jump up enough to set the bed alarm off.  Trying to cover myself and fighting my lame hand to do so.

“Hi, I am the chaplain, may I come in?”
“NO, I mean I am bathing.”
Disgruntled, “I’ll come back.”

I quickly finished my “bath”, got dressed in my lovely hospital gown and put on the granny panties that Ron had brought me.

By the time the chaplain returned I was composed in the chair.  He came in and made chit chat, asked what was wrong, how was I, and what did I do for a living.  I told him, he wanted to know what denomination.  I told him DOC, he informed he was also.  He said a few years ago he had gotten a profile for two churches working together, he thought one was called New Harmony and he couldn’t remember the other one.

Ron was chuckling.  I said,”Bowling Green.”
“Yes.”
I smiled, “those are my churches.”
“Well, I decided to stay in chaplaincy.”

He prayed with us and left.

Had a great visit with Deb and Lindsey, they brought communion and prayed with me.  I felt blessed by their visit, smiles and laughter.

Ron went back to Bowling Green to get the kiddos settled at Grandma Marie’s (hope she knows what she got into). He is coming back to be here tonight to be with me and be here for the MRI results. 

Shift change has happened. This shift is downright perky for a night shift.  Should be a fun night in the stroke/cardiac floor. 

I bet even Job laughed at times.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

5 thoughts on “The chaplain knocks when I am naked

  1. I love that the chaplin was connected to your churches!!! That was a God moment for sure!! I glad your nurses are perky tonight. I will keep Grandma Marie in my prayers also!! hahaha I bet your kiddos are good. Will be praying they are with Gma. Bless you and Ron tonight.

    Like

  2. Love hearing your sense of humor coming through despite the somber moments. I wanna be like you when I grow up…lol

    Like

  3. Dawn, so sorry to hear you had to return to DePaul did not get to come by to see you because I am a little under the weather and did not want to expose you to anything more. doing better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

