Braces, MRI, tears and a rehab; oh my

This is now the third time I have typed this blog, hopefully the third time is the charm.

It has been a roller coaster of a day today. It has been a day of going, doing, and crying. I think it all caught up with me and bubbled over.

I started the morning with PT and made it around the floor, greeting the nurses from my first stay, went by my old room, came back to my new room and they did leg and arm exercises.

Then they came in and did the cast for my foot brace. It is butterflies and pink Velcro. Then they came to get me for the MRI, then they brought me back because it was broken but would be fixed in 20 minutes. 40 minutes I asked to lay down. They told me to order lunch..lunch and MRI guy showed up at the same time.

MRI completed, I get back into bed. OT shows up wants to watch me go to the bathroom. They seem to have a bathroom fetish.

Shortly thereafter a string of folks come in; social worker, caseworker, and financial aid. They are all telling what is going to happen. I feel bombarded.

In the midst of this, I hand Ron my phone as I was messaging with a friend, said here talk. Everyone leaves.

Ron, “OK, I told them, you weren’t doing it.”
I look at him and begin to cry. He looks totally perplexed.
” I..I wanntted to make that choice. I waanntted a goal.”
“Dawn.”

Then in comes my Dr’s associate with the outrageous long name to tell me I had the 2nd stroke in my brain stem and I would be leaving across the street for 1-2 weeks for a concentrated rehab program. He leaves and the tears flow. Ron pats my back and I cry.

After the bawlfest, I made Ron a list of things to bring back. Sent him home and got into the Word and prayed. God responded by having people call and message me, reminding me I am not alone. Casting Crown’s song I’ll Praise You in the Storm is my theme song through this.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

3 thoughts on “Braces, MRI, tears and a rehab; oh my

  1. Dawn, my heart cries for you. You are so strong in your faith…you are awesome!!
    . Praying for you everyday. We miss you. Phyllis

    Like

  2. Dawn, if anyone can conquer this, you can. Your faith in Abba will carry you through and bring you back home to your family and your church family. we miss you and all of us are praying for your recovery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

