Learning all over

Today was a great day, it was rough and hard and absolutely exhausting.  PT was with my AFO (brace ankle/foot), did stairs, tip toes, balancing, bending forward, standing toe taps, and changed me to better fitting wheel chair.  Speech was cognitive, memory, word association, recall, make a clock (on paper) and a maze.  When I talk too much, my voice becomes strangled. We are going to work on that. OT was an assessment, shower, dressing, and transferring to bed and to wheelchair.  They fitted me with a brace as my muscles in my left hand, ankle and foot are beginning to tone.  And not tone in the good way we think.  It means the muscles are contracting. They are talking of giving me a muscle relaxer so they can work with those body parts with them having some give.

11 a.m. bought Stroke 2 Class.  This was on the different therapies they give. Ron went with me.  During the class my blood sugar dropped and they pulled me out and got Dr Sam (she has the whitest teeth).  They got me some milk and put me down to rest.  I slept from 1130 to 330. So did Ron.

Went down to cafeteria with Ron.  They had gotten some gluten free things at Dierbergs.  So I has lentil soup, bread (it tasted good), pasta, chicken breast, veggies, fruit, and sugar free pudding.  Ron and I sat outside.  We got tomorrow’s schedule.  Ron has left to go home, go to work, and be back here tomorrow at noon to participate in tomorrow’s OT session.  They work with the care providers to train them.

Tonight is going to be early to bed. This recovering stuff is hard work.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Learning all over

  1. I’m glad that you’re in the rehab center — it sounds like they’re helping you get where you need to be.
    Thanks for blogging your experience,
    Lori

    Like

Leave a Reply

