Rough night

Yesterday was a full day of physical and occupational therapy.  I really pushed and was pushed.  The hesitancy I had to come to the rehab hospital has been erased.

The left hand still is not cooperating yet, which is causing me concern.  My therapist are great, even with a slight twitch they celebrate.  They even included my kids in the afternoon session.

Was so good to see my kiddos.  The princess rode on my lap in the wheelchair and wanted to be close to me to take care of me. We even cuddled in the bed a bit, with her arranging my hands as she wanted them.

Brandon brought me a picture he drew and he was the wheelchair driver. He told me he was too big to cuddle but sat next to me holding my hand.

Ron even laid next to me to hold me for awhile with the kid’s permission. Brandon was mesmerized by my robot hand and the shock treatment to my hand.

Hula was my nurse Friday night an all day yesterday. She was wonderful. We laughed a lot together.  We put my bra on upside down and she looked at me and told me they aren’t that low yet.  I got my shower yesterday and once again there is no modesty or privacy. Hula asked if I had washed my private area. I had not and told her I was waiting for the curtain to close. She tsked at me and told me hers and I were the same just different colors.  Good point.  I was shaving my legs and she told me her husband shaved hers. “Aren’t I spoiled.”

Last night was a rough night for me.  Bad headache that they gave me medication.  I hurt and didn’t sleep well.  They let me sleep until 8:30 and brought up breakfast for me.

My nurse today is  Barbara and she is no nonsense, a person of faith with compassion and kindness.  Love it when the nurses treat you a person and not a patient only.

Yesterday, Joe Siefkas, the pastor at First Presbyterian in Bowling Green came to see me.  I was so blessed, honored and appreciative.  Being an hour from home makes you feel disconnected and a bit lost. That little bit of contact helped me so much. Joe offered his and the churches help and said a prayer with us.  I am completely blown away by my communities support and love.  All I van say is thank you very much and keep those prayers coming.

I am keeping up with what’s going at General Assembly and the world.  Saw the Zimmerman verdict and learned of Corey Monteith’s (Finn from Glee) death.  I am reminded that even if I am frozen in time, life goes on.

Today I am reminded of the verse,” come to me all you who are heavily burdened and I will give you rest.”.  So today I rest in Him.

Leave a comment