I climbed Mt Everest..OK was just stairs

This morning was the audience dressing on the toilet, can you say ackward.   Was able to do everything including my brace and shoe.

The feeling of community continues to grow.  We commiserate, we laugh, we joke, and we celebrate the triumphs.  Majority of folks are glad to be here.  Some though complain, refuse therapy and even yell. We celebrate when someone passes their tests to go home.

Today they had me to try to walk without the brace.  That was a bit of an epic fail.  Today I did stairs, not the four wooden ones in the safety of the gym, no, not those.  I did the hospital stairs in the stairwell.  She opened that door and I looked down and saw metal and concrete with rails further apart then the ones in the gym.  You all have seen the movies where the stairs take on a epic endless tall view.  That is what these stairs looked like.  Therapist Karen held onto my gate belt.  My heart started beating rapidly.  She took away the cane and I grabbed the handrail with my good hand.  Took a breath and stepped down with bad foot first.  12 steps down, turn around, go back up with my good foot. I did it.  She then reminded me to breathe. 

On our new way back to gym my leg was bit wonky and I stumbled.  Karen went to catch me on the shoulder but she got to 2nd base.  She was horrified, I was laughing.  Told her my husband might be jealous.  She turned red.

We then switched to therapist Ashley and she did shock treatment on my hand and made me move balls.  When I am out of here, no one better take me to a ball pit, I might have a meltdown.

Regina then worked we me with wooden peg board and pegs.  Those babies get kuddos for being able to do it so well.

I have class at 11 and then a break until 1:30.  Playing my music and chilling right now.  Be blessed today and be a blessing.  Peace out.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “I climbed Mt Everest..OK was just stairs

  1. No one tells a story like you!!!! I can just picture you and Karen having a good laugh about the 2nd base deal!!! I love you!! Your so funny and brave at the same time. You are teaching me about perserverence as you shair your tails!!!! I know this journy will turn into glory for Him. Blessings to you daily!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

