Wheelchair dancing, the next health craze

Busy busy busy day.  Good busy.  There are those days that are an absolute struggle, where you think nothing is going to come together. Then those are the days where it all seems to click in ways you can’t imagine.

My ADL (adult daily living) was easy peasy.  I can shower and mostly dress myself.  I did almost hang myself with my own bra.  Not what I want on my death certificate: self strangulation by bra.  To put on bra, you have to hook it before you put on, put both arms through and then pull it over your head and pray you don’t get caught in the bra stranglehold.

First PT was working on gait and curbs and steps.  I have to remember how to do so much.  Wiggle the hip, bend the knee, lift then foot, place heel first, point toe, follow through with the other foot and place the cane.  Enough to make your head explode.  But its starting to look more natural like. Heavy on the like.  I walked quite a bit.

OT was more handwork with the Saebo and balls.  Found out the elbow pain is tennis elbow. Still have quite a bit of tone, so straightening it fully is still difficult. 

2nd OT, therapist Karen worked on new torture methods 🙂 .  We did some weight bearing and knee work.  When you lose your balance making like a wounded bird flapping her wing does not give you balance.

Had a great visit with Dick and Phyllis.  They said I looked good, that helped.  Was good to visit with people from home.

The call all day has been “no blood”.  They retested me thinking my #’s were wrong. They were right.  So I have to be careful not to bump or run into things as I will bruise and bleed easily and apparently is hard to stop.  I don’t want to find out.

I can’t say enough nice things about these folks here.  The kitchen staff made gluten free spaghetti with meat sauce and gluten free cheese bread.  There are only 2 of us that are on gluten free diets.  They have also been teaching me about coumadin diet.  I was given to helpings of spaghetti tonight.

When I came upstairs I went to get my schedule and ended up having a mini party with the nurses, Lisa, Sam, and the techs and another patient Tawnya.  We laughed and got silly. We watched a video called,”I ain’t got time for this.” Tawnya  and I were jamming out and dancing in our wheelchairs.  Felt good to laugh and be silly.

Today was a great day.  Once again I am blessed.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

3 thoughts on “Wheelchair dancing, the next health craze

  1. Been following your blog and am amazed how well you are doing!! I am also on Coumadin and eat gluten free. I am here to help with any questions you have about diet. praying for you daily!

    Like

  2. I hope it was Sweet Brown that you were watching. If it wasn’t, you should search for her on YouTube, she’s bring a smile to your face!

    Love reading your update each morning and am so thankful to read of an amazing day yesterday! Praying today brings as much progress!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

