Love letter

Tonight I lay here in the dark of the hospital room.  I have had all my nighttime meds, my insulin shot and my vitals taken.  I am now alone and my mind is going.

Many of you don’t know my husband, so I want to share this with all of you.

Dearest Ronnie,

It has been nearly 20 years of marriage.  We have highs and lows.  And right now we are at a difficult time in our lives.  I often say you aren’t a romantic but you are steadfast and steady.

I need you so much right now and you are there with me every step of the way.  You have come down and been there to learn rehab techniques, how to transfer me and how to care for me. You have amazed me.

You have held my hand, rub my shoulders and held me when I have been scared or cried.  I am so thankful.  I have fallen in love with you in a new and different way.

You are a loving caring man of God who is taking care of home, the kiddos, working and still driving over an hour to see me as much as you can.

I asked you once how you could do this and that you didn’t sign up for this and you simply said, “why wouldn’t I be here.”   You also have been a strong voice and my advocate, in all manners.  You have been my champion.

I am both scared and excited to come home. Scared as to the level of my recovery as sustaining my rehab at home.  Scared that I won’t be able to do everything.  You have told me just do what I can and you have become my physical therapist.  I am excited to lay in bed next to you, to talk to you about the simple thing.

Thank you for loving me, being my champion, challenging me, making me laugh and for just being you.  Romance is nice but having a spouse who is rock steady and present means everything to me.  You mean everything to me.  We have entered another path in our journey and I am glad I can walk (hobble) it with you. I love you Ron and am honored to be Mrs.Turner. I bless God for you, our marriage, and our family.

Always and forever

Dawn

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

5 thoughts on “Love letter

  1. What a wonderful thing to write to Ron and to share with us. Brought tears to my eyes, specially when I realized that I never wrote such a letter to my Bill. He too, was steady and there for me more than I ever thanked him for. Bless you for taking the time to write this. Hope you have a restful night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

