Whew can ya work me harder

Woke up at 730 by a phone call from Ron the princess had told him that I said it was OK for her to near her pink cowboy boots to the Y daycamp.  Hmm I didnt recall that.  So he told her she lied and to go take the boots off.  You hear this scream and wail.  “Fine I will go to school without clothes.”
Daddy,  “fine but they might look at you funny.”

Therapy started at 9 with an hour of physical therapy.  Did 2 flights of the real stairs and walked outside on grass.  Came in and did stretches on the mat.

OT was at 10.  We did stretches, reaches with weight bearing. Went to kitchen and made play dough. Walked back to room, and practiced hooking buttons.
Noon had a light lunch.  Just wasn’t feeling hungry. Came back to room to doze.  Of course that is when they came in to ask questions.  Did have a great discussion with Joan the Chaplain about self care, boundaries and communication between me and the churches.  She assured that she sees God is going to use me and this circumstance.

Nursing staff has been swamped.  Feel for them.  They work so hard and do such much for so many of us and not everyone is a super patient like me.  Hee hee, now that is funny.

Tonight the orthopedist came in to fit the new shoes and showed me how to do it with other shoes.  Craig has rocked it out in service department.

Today in was thinking of those folks who have stood by me and those that have disappeared.  Makes me a bit sad and I don’t quite understand.  By the time I leave here I will have been in rehab for 25 days.  I have been in semi isolation since June 28.  A lot of it has been distance for my church folk but they have provided me with cards and computer well wishes.  But some of the people I thought would be there have gone poof! Am surprised by this but not shocked.  Some folks don’t handle hospitals or illness well. 

Should sleep well tonight.  Have ADL at 8:30 son I get to sleep in.  Am going to take some time to go to the Word and do dome prayer before my day gets going.  Abba has never abandoned me and nor will he.  I am blessed to be a child of God.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

5 thoughts on “Whew can ya work me harder

  1. You are rockin”, Dawn. You are doing so well in 25 days! And in no time, you will be home and ruling the roost. So proud of you to have gone so far in such a short time. You’re inner strength and faith has been your best friend through it all. Take Care and Keep on improvin’!

    Like

  2. I admire you and the hard work you have done and never lost your faith. You’re one strong woman. Continuing to pray for a complete recovery.

    Like

  3. But Mom….why no pink cowgirl boots to Y day camp??? I .really think that was totally……FUNNY! I can hear her now! Your husband must be a “saint”! What a dear you are and how you have used your faith and humor to not only bring yourself through this but you have brought all of us right along with you! Thank you for sharing what must be the most difficult journey of your life to date. Blessings and joy to you dear girl. Sleep well….I wish you joy tomorrow.

    Like

  4. So proud of you Dawn. Keep up the hard work and you will be home soon. I pray for you everyday and you are always in my thoughts. Wish we could talk face to face but your faith keeps me strong.I know the Lord will keep you strong just as he has done with me.

    Like

  5. So happy that you get to go home soon and be with your family!!! The whole Barker/Shutt family are very proud of you and your progress and that hubby.

    Like

Leave a Reply

