Going home, 2nd leg in the marathon

It’s 3:28 in the morning and I woke up for a potty walk (waddle).  Am a bit wide awake.  Headache is back.  Time to push the nurse call button.

Today I go home. Tonight I sleep in my bed with my husband.  Today I go back to the joyful chaos of kids and dogs.  Today I start the hardest part of this journey. I will be on my own in this recovery.  No therapist, no nurse and no one to cook my meals.  Ron and I are now flying solo.  Part of me is worried that yo have a tendency to react differently when a love one tells you to do something as opposed to a therapist.

Yesterday I said goodbye to my dear support group. I have come to love them dearly. Even as I write this I am tearing up.  These wonderful woman have changed my life an walked with me through one of the roughest times of my life. I will never forget them.  Ironically none of my “team” works today.  God knew I would be a blubbering idiot.  Look at me now went from tears to sobbing. Thank you Ashley, Anne, Erika and Lisa your names will always be imprinted on my heart.  Plus i cant forget those others who made me laugh and pushed me to the next step.  Karen and her smile and laugh and her sick fondness for mat exercises on all fours.  Hula for your laughter, joy an genuine love of life.  I will never forget the EKG and shower.  Donna you are an awesome activity director.  One of my highlights were all the therapy dogs.  There are so many others; Chad your humor is wicked good.  Joan your spiritual advise, gentle and encouraging words were the breath of Abba on my soul. I pray we stay in touch.  there are so many others who touched me; the myriad of aids and the cafeteria folk who came to know my name.. And I will come back and see you all.  Consider that both a threat and a promise.  I want you to know how you touch lives just by being who God made you to be.

This has been my home for 25 days.  Good days, bad days, frustrating days, days of defeat and triumph.  I can make it akin to camp (go Zephyr), you are there for 6 days and they are intense days and when you get to go home, we all cry because of the impact and friendships that were made.

All these emotions are bombarding me right now; excitement, happiness, apprehension, fear..all these are bubbling inside of me.  All are natural emotions and I can blame some of them on the stroke (how long did you say I could use that one,Lisa). 

In approximately 7 hours and I will be home. And a whole new set of emotions will be happening, think I may need to invest in waterproof mascara. 

I be homeward bound.  Time to sleep a few hours away. 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Going home, 2nd leg in the marathon

  1. What a beautifully, heartfelt written thank you to your friends of the care center and my thanks to you for sharing the multitude of emotions you are feeling as you return home to the bosom of your family and friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

