New use for the brace

Sunday morning was a great morning…first service at New Harmony, I was welcomed back so warmly. I did the joys and concerns, pastoral prayer, communion meditation, words of institution, and benediction. At Bowling Green, I did children’s moments, scripture reading and the message.  I got applause when I walked into the sanctuary.  Thank you to Deb and to Ted.  Found out the Velcro on my hand brace comes in handy for holding the microphone battery packs.

I was pretty wiped out and laid down for a few hours.  I was in snoozeville. Woke up to a ghastly stomach ache.  The joys of the stroke in the nether regions is not fun.  But thank goodness for pharmaceutical companies and over the counter meds. Sorry for the TMI but I promised to be honest in all areas.  Some folks with strokes have a tendency to have UTI’s and digestional tract issues and it is something we are taught to be aware of in our conversations with doctors and nurses.

The kiddos surprised Ron to the point of paranoia by getting along all afternoon. No fighting, no yelling, no screaming and not tattling. There was just laughter and joy.  Ron was up and down several times checking on them. Each time saying, “its not like them.” I asked him to check to see if they were our children or aliens.  Their behaving together threw him into a loop.  Well played children, well played.

The stew came out great, Ron added potatoes and peas. I told him he forgot the carrots. He smiled (a bit sheepishly) and informed me, his stew did not require carrots.  He is doing so great.

As we were beginning to serve dinner, I noticed that the Princess had a wet spot on her hiney covered in dirt. I asked her if she wet. She said the grass was wet.  Hmmm, than why is the front wet…umm she laid down and that was the only wet part of the grass.
Child: I am not lying.
Me:  you wet didn’t you.
Child: you are smart, Mom, you know (please note hands on hip)
Me: you lied, correct
Child: (huge sigh) yes. But mommy you know you can’t get mad, its not good for you. You could go back to the hospital.

Really child you are going there.  Got to laugh.  She thought that one through.

Sitting with Ron watching Duck Dynasty, one redneck watching a bunch of other rednecks.  Interesting personal stories of their beliefs and faith. 

Kids have no YMCA day camp and no school.  So should be busy around the house.  Brandon mowed the yard today, so he can’t do that tomorrow.  He wants to now every day. 

Felt good to be back around my families again.  We are sooo blessed.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “New use for the brace

  1. It is so nice to see a TV program that shows people thanking the Lord for their blessings! But, back to DD… I think they are Cajuns, which I imagine it’s a mixture of Redneck and Hillbilly… hehehe…
    Glad to see you up and about, Dawnie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

