Cane and Clowns

Yesterday was a rough day, melt down Friday.  We had to go pick up balloons for the Back to School Fair.  We picked up 2 packages of 144 count balloons and some costume pieces for the kiddos.  The deal was they would have to mind and go to bed or no clowning.

10:30 p.m. and voices are coming from the Princesses’ room.  She is talking to her stuffed animal and trying to get Raphie into bed with her.  She was informed no clowning. 

6:00 a.m. we are up and moving. She goes out to get her outfit on, we remind her of the consequence.  First meltdown starts.  I get Brandon into clown and with his whirly gig hat.  Princess tries to put on part of the costume, we say no–meltdown. 

I did my makeup on my own, one handed today.  Did OK.  Lips were a bit off. But it looked OK. Wore two different shoes due to wearing the brace.  Worked. Was very very very hard to put on the tights one handed by I overcame and won.  Did have to have help with the wig.  Amazing how pleased I was to do this all by myself but also was amazed how tired I was.  Ashley and Anne (therapist gurus/torturers) would be pleased to know I stood 30 minutes to put on the makeup.

At the fairgrounds, we arrived and unloaded our supplies.  Ron went to put on his nose (we were in a rush and he had forgotten it). Ramona and Sarah bless their hearts, they blew up the balloons.  I sat at the direction of several folks.  I signed the papers and handed out “free B’s” and stickers.  We were constantly slammed. Was awesome to see.  We went through over 400 balloons, between the ones we bought and what we already had.  Some of the balloons were not s good of quality.  I can say i stopped jumping at every popped balloon. About 11:30 they came and took me into the back as they said I look exhausted, they were correct.  Saw a few people who I knew but they didn’t know who I was. Makes it fun!

We came home and de-clowned and I laid down. I was out of it.  Ron woke me up to eat and my blood sugar was 69.  I ate and then laid back down.  Woke up at 5:58 p.m. Got up to go to the bathroom and forgot my cane.  I hyper extended my knee when I stumbled and almost went down. So that is a bit tender.  In my head I sometimes forgot I carry anchors on my body.  I woke up with the mindset of I can walk…wrong.

Simple dinner of chilli covered fries and kids to bed a bit later than normal but good news is they are both out for the count.

Tomorrow I preach on Promises. 

Am thanking God for the ministry to be at the Back to School Fair.  And for all those who participated today and made a difference in the lives of families. 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Cane and Clowns

Leave a Reply

