Howling at the moon

Not sure there is even a moon out right now. But I am awake.  Woke up because I tried to roll over and the shoulder started acting up.  Bad shoulder bad. Ron gave me a hydrocodone as I was in tears. I can’t even describe the pain.. its sharp and feels like someone has pulled on it.

Ron came to bed tonight after me.  I think he takes that time after I go to bed to just have time to himself.  Where he doesn’t have the kids or me making demands on him.  He came to bed tonight asking what more he could do and that he felt like he wasn’t doing enough.  Wow!

This man, worked on his bus route today, took care of kids, fed them and me lunch (3 different sandwiches), took me to Dr, cleaned up after supper, did all the medications, put the kids to bed and then went down and worked at the church.  What more can he do he asks?  Think he is doing plenty.

It is hard on one’s pride not to be able to do the simple things.  And hard having to ask for help to do some things.  Or having to wait to do it in someone else’s time.  It’s a bit maddening, especially for a type A personality. I am learning a lot and I mean a lot (like a truckload) of patience.  Which is probably the best thing in the world. God’s time not mine.

I just heard the clock chime. It’s from my mom’s house. It chimes every quarter of the hour.  Reminds me of her and makes me smile.  She had 3 of the big clocks that made noise and a small anniversary clock.  None of them were ever in sync.  So you had 3 that would chime and one that did various songs.  I think my dad doesn’t miss the cacophony of noise.  He kept the musical clock only.

Speaking of time (good segue, huh), time to try to go back to sleep. The magic pain pill is taking hold.

Thankful to God that I have each of these days, both good and bad, because each day brings something new to learn.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Howling at the moon

  1. Sorry that you didn’t have a good night. wish we could wave a magic wand and make it all go away, but we can’t and as you said in God’s time you will be better. That is something that I struggle with all the time. I want it now not in God’s time. I have to keep reminding myself God has it under control and let him handle it. Prayers continue, hope you have a better day!! Hugs to you!!!

    Like

  2. That is one of the good things, growing, to be like Jesus! Thank you for your words, they always give me a boost, kinda like my devotions each morning, but better because I know the woman who is writing to me. Love and prayers!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

