My name is Dawn and yes I overdid it today

God speaks and we hopefully listen. God began whispering in my ear last night.  Then this morning it was not a whisper but a persistent voice. He was telling me to go visit someone today.  So I told my chauffeur and we loaded up.

It was bittersweet, I had hoped to help but not sure I did.  A few weeks ago I was in the same shape and hoped to give hope.  I know the highs and lows of being a stroke victim. I know the funny and sad situations of being a hospital patient. I know the frustration of wanting your body to work and it doesn’t.  I prayed and shared.  And now I still pray for God work to be done.  I know God is using my situation to touch others but I have to admit it was physically and emotionally wearing. I shed some tears in the rig. Wishing I could take this burden.

We certainly did physical therapy.  We parked so far away (even with the handicap placard) and we had to walk and walk and walk.  Security even asked if we were lost. I must admit I was more partial to my hospital rooms at DePaul.  Liked the set up of the room and bathroom better.

Tonight was school open house. Kids were off the chain.  A bit excited. And of course they are in 2 different hallways. So more walking.  They did let us in early so we could get through and not have to fight the crowds. Have tons of paperwork to fill out for both kids. Brandon is signed up for soccer, only thing I don’t like is games on Sundays.  Ron had to be there as a bus driver.  So we were there for the duration, saw a lot of folks.

It is good to be home, good to have my feet up.  I am now medicated and relaxing.  Riley has leaped onto my lap and giving me some doggy comfort. Ron is back plotting his route as he got 5 new riders.  Love how he puts himself into everything he does.

It’s nice when you get wobbly or unstable to have a strong arm go around your waist. Got a great call today from Carol and George Shutt that made me smile.  George shared his roping story with me.  It reminded me when I was learning to rope.  I was learning how to “heel”.  So I was using my children walking to heel. We lived in Pasco at the Nixon Street house. There was a sidewalk and I was having them walk as I would rope. If I got them, I would let them step out and then bring the rope back. Except for one time, Patrick was the calf and I heeled him, I thought he had stepped out.  Well..he hadnt , I yanked and first born son hit the cement sidewalk hard.  I felt awful. Pat would never be my calf after that, I just don’t understand why.

Tomorrow, I hope to sleep a bit longer.  We have FST (Family Support Team) meeting tomorrow for Princess. Hopefully we will get the go ahead on an adoption date.  Since we have a sitter, Ron and I may take a few minutes to ourselves.

Yes, I overdid today, yes, I probably shouldn’t have and I am paying for it but also know I did as God called me to do today.

May you all hear God’s voice and let Him touch your heart.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “My name is Dawn and yes I overdid it today

  1. I’m sure it meant a lot to them to have you there, even if it wasn’t shown as you had hoped. Just don’t you get yourself back down trying to do to much. Take care of you, too!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

