Twerking…stroke style

Yesterday was a high pain day, with my left side spasming and tightening.  If we could have set it to music and video taped it, maybe could have gone viral.  Please understand, I can’t feel my left hand and lower arm or my lower leg and foot, so what hurts is my elbow and shoulder and my knee and thigh.  When I spasm or tighten I feel it up in my neck and jaw too. Strange sensation.  I can’t control it and I assume this is normal.

Also as  Ron eloquently says “the little booger carrying germ factory” has shared her cold. So coughing and sneezing have been added to my Twerking repertoire.  You can’t walk and sneeze when you have a cane and no balance.  Much less carry a Kleenex.

Yesterday morning started out with the Princess going in to take her shower. She informed she could do the water, I heard the water come on, and switch to shower. About 10 minutes later the shower turns off and then the water.  Hallelujah she did this by herself. I am fist pumping in my head.  Well my celebration was short lived. She comes out of the bathroom still in her pajamas. I look at her..

Child: I dried already
Me: Really?
Child: My hair dried really fast.
Me: You put your pajamas back on?
Child: Umm yes
Me: Back in their
Child:(exasperated sigh, foot stomping feet as she heads to bathroom) Your smart for someone with a cane.

Today, I put her in the tub. 

Kids,  Ron and I had a family meeting last night over expectations for home and school with me not at full 100%. The backtalk has increased but think part of it is being a pre-teen for one and the other thinking she is a pre-teen. Think once they get into the school schedule things will settle down or that is my hope.  Everyday before they leave the house, we have a prayer. We pray for the teachers and staff, their classes and for them.  Hopefully this will sink into their heads and hearts. 

Last night I slept on the couch, let Ron get a full night of sleep without me twitching, coughing, sneezing and snorfeling. Nyquil does not make a over the counter drug for that.

Today, my eyes are kinda blurry and prismy. Things are multiple and shimmery.  Rather strange.  But just another thing to deal with.

And baby I am getting good at dealing with multiple things. Saw Talley yesterday, she told me I was looking good. People keep saying that to me. I appreciate it, I really do but (yep I just put a but there) I don’t feel like do.  I feel off my center. I will get over that eventually but I just don’t feel comfortable in this skin right now. I feel as a mere refection of myself.

Today, I am going to take it easy. Rest, rejuvenate and draw close to God. I think, better yet I know that is what I need.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Twerking…stroke style

  1. What does the Princess have against water??? It amazes we how she thinks you won’t notice she didn’t clean up!!! You certainly have a challenge there!

    I am so sorry you “caught” a cold…….one of the last things you need. I hope it is short lived; in the mean time…..pamper yourself with a pot of your favorite hot tea and a good book.

    Dawn Marie, you are “looking good”!!! That term can have so many meanings; none of those meanings are to be taken lightly. It is a physical struggle for you to be up and about…looking good. It is a mental struggle to overcome the side effects of a stroke…..looking good. Those who are seeing you for the first time since your stroke events……looking good. Many may not know what to say because they are overcome with emotion…..looking good. You are small and cute with a perky attitude…..looking good. You have a heart for people and make those around you feel better about themselves….looking good. I could go on….but you are a smart gal……..

    I need to move along with my day. Just wanted to “stop in” and say hi and tell you…what else…..you are looking good!!!! Have a blessed and joyful day….keep the box of tissue close! sf

    Like

  2. I remember doing the same thing about the showers or baths, but I would put water around my hairline so I got away with it for a few days!! hahaha Some day you wont be able to get her out of the bathroom, oboy that will be fun.
    I know, well I dont know how you feel in your skin, but I know you well enough that you like to wear your heals, and all the girly stuff, so I know how hard this is for you. I pray time will help you get back in those heals!!!!! love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

