Thankful

Today was a good day.  Accomplished quite a few things at the office.  Got my blood drawn for my INR, it was 2.3, so my blood was a bit thick. 

Put on a pair of elastic wasted capris today, was not a good choice. They were a but big on me.  Stood o and began walking and became a penguin.  They had fallen a bit.  And with the cane in one hand and the other hand useless…well it had the potential for extreme ackwardness.  So dear hubby brought me a denim skirt to replace the dreaded capris.  The theory behind the skirt was if I had to go to bathroom I could pull it up.  Wrong.

I went to restroom and skirt was tight around the hips and upper thighs and it was not pulling up.  So, I had to try to unbutton and unzip them, while holding my bladder.  Success was able to go without disastrous results.  But..well then I couldn’t figure out how to zip and button up. I tried several times for several minutes.  I did not want o ask my secretary. So I pulled my shirt down, waddled back to my office praying my skirt would not fall down. 

What was I to do? I was hoping no one would come by the office. Well when in doubt call the cavalry.  I called Ron and asked him to please come by and zip me up.  After a long pause he agreed.  When he arrived at my office he was chuckling and wearing a grin.

Took my after lunch-until-Ron-gets-back-2 hour nap. Amazing still to me how much my body needs that sleep time during the day.  And at night I sleep in 2 hour increments. 

Made a simple dinner my mom use to make. Fry up hamburger and onions add pork and beans, spicy brown mustard, garlic, and brown sugar. Had gluten free cornbread and fried apples.  Three out of four of us liked it.  This is one of my comfort food memories.

Brandon and daddy watched the Seahawks play.  Funny watching Brandon ask questions, act like he knows the sport and cheer on the team and at times rooting on the other team.  Both are kiddos adore their Daddy. 

I went to bed during the game only to wake up in severe pain in my elbow, shoulder and head. So am now sitting up and heating my shoulder. Trying not to take another pill.

Tomorrow or technically later today, we go to Troy to pick up Brandon’s new glasses and will go to the Goodwill in Lake St Louis to look for denim or long skirts, and see what we kind find in soccer cleats for Brandon.  Ron is going to work tomorrow during my nap time.

Prayers go out to the Belton family in Spokane, Mr Belton was tragically beaten to death by 2 teenagers. This has made national news. His granddaughter, Natasha,  was one of my Regional Youth Commission kids in the Northwest Region of the Christian Church. 

I am going to succumb to a pain pill and try to sleep.  Blessings and peace to you all.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

