Curling

Curling; and I am not talking about the strange (to me) Canadian ice sport that involves brooms and giant weighted things they push down the ice. I am not talking about giving your hair luxurious curls or corkscrew curls with a curling iron or the pink foamy things our mothers put in our hair and made us sleep in.

I am talking about the curling of body parts. Fingers that curl into a fist when you sneeze, yawn or just for no apparent reason.  Arm that curls at the elbow. Toes that curl on your feet. I have become the Curl Meister.  No control. Sudden tightening of the muscles, causing constriction to that whole limb. I have no control, I have no warning, my body on the left curls on its own volition.  Bad body bad. When it curls and tightens it hurts in the part of the limb that has sensation. So it is not a fun event.

So what can I do? Continue my stretches. Continue with the muscle relaxers. I an trying to reduce the pain pills but find at times they are a necessity. And I pray. I pray for healing, I pray for patience, I pray for my mind and body to find cooperation and I pray for understanding.

My body is sometimes like our relationship with God. We don’t cooperate and do our own thing. We don’t listen to what is he communicating to us. And he must get frustrated with us at times. He wants us to be faithful and listen to what he is saying to us. But we have a short circuit when it comes to listening. Sometimes it is the static of the world, sometimes it is just us plain ignoring him.

Just as I stretch and exercise my body, we need to do that spiritually. Just as I have to take the meds we need to take God’s prescription of praying, reading his word and being in fellowship with God and with our brothers and sisters in Christ.

Today I am curled up tight in my fingers and and and my toes are curled under. It is painful but today I am also curled up in God’s loving embrace and care. Today I am tired due to another sleepiness night but I will rest in his care.

I am going to get better and who knows I may be taking up the sport of curling and let my hair grow out to curl it too.

Blessings on your day.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Curling

  1. While reading this I kept thinking that you should imagine yourself “curled tightly in God’s loving embrace” (and then you came to that conclusion yourself). Know that God is holding you close to His heart. Continue to take comfort and find strength in His loving arms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

