Sleep is Overrated, Right

It is Thursday.  I am in my office, I love my office, it is my sanctuary.  It is painted in bright colors, has a lot of books, and a lot of my personality to it.  I have artwork gifted to me over the years, I have a variety of chalices, different crosses, I have scripture quotes and even a Dr. Seuss quote on my wall.  

Today you are you,

That is truer than true.

There is no one alive

who is Youer than You.

That always makes me smile.  Because it is so true. Part of the battle with a stroke(s) is that you aren’t just battling the physical but also the mental and emotional.  I call it stroke brain.  My brain shorted out to a degree.  I can’t always think of words or takes me awhile at times to remember things.  I am more emotional too,

Yesterday was one of those days where I was set off by tiny things that made me a blubbering puddle of jello.  I felt frumpy, I wanted to walk without a cane, I was having trouble remembering something simple and I couldn’t just hop in the car and go, I was feeling alone and blah, blah, blah.  You get the drift.  Plus yesterday was 2 months since my life turned around.  All that added up to tears and surliness.  Poor Ron got the brunt of that.

Then I came to work and I sat in my office.  I looked around and realized how blessed I am.  Each thing in this office holds a memory or an emotion.  There is evidence of the love I have experienced and God’s presence.  He is with me in this trial.  

I am going to have those days of mountain top highs, walking in the meadow at peace, those times in the valley and times I am digging myself out of the holes of my life. But I am me and I am a child of God.  

There are folks definitely worse off than me.  I am blessed.  My life is not perfect but I am blessed with the love of many but most importantly I am blessed by God. He is Jehovah Rapha the God that heals. He is Jehovah Shammah, the Lord that is here,  He is Adonia, my Lord and Master.  Even when I feel the world has left me, I know he is there.  

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

