Labor Day

Today was Labor Day, so today we labored. No camp outs, no BBQ, and no last blast to the summer.  Labor Day for me in the past since I was a child was the MDA Jerry Lewis telethon. I was allowed to stay up that night as long as I could.  I would bring out blankets and pillows and make me a bed on the floor. I was allowed soda, chips, candy and Jiffy Pop popcorn.

Today, I went grocery shopping, rearranged the pantry with the entire families help, made dessert and cooked dinner. So I did labor today.

Today was a day of minor accomplishments; tieing my shoes, pushing a grocery cart, cutting apples (and not myself) and getting in and out of my bath by myself. Minor things for many of you but major for me. And some people don’t understand my giddiness and excitement.  A lot of what I am learning to do or retraining my brain to do, a child can do. It’s innate. For me it is a struggle. It can be frustrating. It is a slowwwww process. And I want to be better now,

The tone in my hand and lower arm make the arm so heavy. The toes continue to curl and tighten and I don’t have any ideas why or what to do. I am trying some “remedies” for hammer toes. This not having people to talk to about this is frustrating. So we are guessing, reading what we can and hoping we are getting it right.

Yesterday was an amazing Sunday of worship. I gave the message on humility and hospitality. I spoke of taking the worst seat and giving someone the best seat. I spoke of putting others before ourselves and most of all putting Christ first.  I gave an example if letting someone go before you in the checkout line. And not someone with a few things but with a cartload of stuff. I reminded them that we are Christ’s hands and feet and that we should serve Him and not for the glory but in humility and not drawing attention to our good deeds.

I always pray that God will open hearts to His spirit before I preach and He did. I received two examples of folks helping strangers.  As a pastor, I feel blessed when God uses me to incite action.

My partner, love of my life, nurse, PT, OT, supporter, best friend has always gone out of his way to be there. He is the strongest, most patient, man I have ever met.  I would have wrung my neck a few times by now. 

Every day that I live in God’s grace and healing mercies is a good day. I am blessed that I have not just my husband to lean on but my Abba, first and foremost.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Labor Day

Leave a Reply

