Hands, Weight and Advent Planning

I was looking at my husband’s hands. They are weathered, callused, and a bit deformed. In 1989, he was working in Heppner, Oregon putting continuous gutter on the high school.  He was up on a ladder stepping onto the roof and the wind swept the ladder out from under his feet.  He fell 18 feet landing backwards trying to catch himself with his hands behind him.  He pushed his heel into his ankle and broke (shattered) both hands. They had to basically rebuild his hands.  So his hands aren’t conventional, they are a bit malformed.  But I love his  hands, they have a strength to them and speak of perseverance and overcoming tragedy.

I weighed myself today.  I am down a bit more.  But for some reason feel fattier.  Think it is because I am wearing a lot of elastic as I still can’t fasten my pants.  I want to lose 15 more lbs.  Won’t be svelte but healthy.  I am exercising but not the cardio type.  Mine is stretches, muscle memory, movement making and walking.  The amount of walking I can do does not allow for that cardio sweat.  I feel lumpy and frumpy.  I am such a girl. I know I know patience.

This morning I got my own breakfast, got in and out of the tub alone (although I should wait for someone to be home).  Was practically ready when Ron got home from his route.  Yay me!  Little things I do independently are a major milestone.  Am retraining 1/2 of me.

In the bathtub I was inspired to what my Advent theme this year:  

Listening People

Isaiah-I Foretold
Elizabeth-My Baby Moved
Joseph-The Angels Told Me
Mary-Jesus Inside of Me
Shepherds-You Won’t Believe What I Saw

Christmas Eve-A Light in the Sky

This excites  me.

The past of Ron’s accident which allowed us to meet (that is a whole other story) the present I am living with and the future that God is giving me.

 

Image

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

