Still learning

I am still learning my limitations.  And some days not so well. 

I am learning not to blog on days I am ultra tired and heavily medicated. I can be silly or just be all wrong in what I am saying with typos, misspelled words and improper syntax.

I am learning to filter and organize  my thoughts better since the stroke.

I am learning to substitute words when I can’t think of what I want to say.

I am learning sometimes I have to play charades to get my point across. 

I am learning to write things down so I can remember what was said seconds ago.

I am learning how not to trip as often, and when you fall to not fall badly and make it look graceful. OK there is no way to do that, but I keep on telling myself that.

I am learning I can’t do a full service, a meeting with travel the next day and work the first full day and not come home exhausted.

I am learning I am NOT ready to drive yet. If you can’t shut the door or almost fall out of the vehicle
attempting to shut the door then, its not time to drive. The cane comes in handy to shut the door, though-

I am learning to trust in God in this recovery.

I am learning to laugh at myself. There is a lot to laugh about and a lot to laugh at.

I am learning it is OK to ask for help. And if I forget I am reminded, which is very good.

I am learning that the strokes have altered my emotions. Not necessarily a good thing. Commercials now can cause tears and not the one’s that should.

I have learned that I am not alone; I have people who have reached out to me; near and far.  Amazing how many people have prayed for my family.

I have learned that I may make mistakes but I have grace and forgiveness.  If I learn from those mistakes all is not lost.

I have learned how important family is, those who are biological and those who are chosen and have adopted me.

I have learned the power of prayer!!!!

I have learned how strong, patient and amazing my husband is under these circumstances.

I have learned that I have to be patient and it is in God’s time not mine.

I have learned to use this all for God’s glory and reside in His presence.

I have learned in all things and at all times, I have my faith, I have my Abba.

I have learned I am still learning.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

2 thoughts on “Still learning

  1. You have also taught us all a lot as you learned a lot. Thank you for being so open and honest on your road to recovery. You are one heck of a woman, wife, mother and friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

