Thanksgiving day ramblings

It is 4 a.m. on Thanksgiving and I am awake not to put a turkey in the oven but with spasms and some pain. The house is quiet. Amazes me how my bundles of energy can sleep and be so still. I peaked into both their rooms to enjoy seeing them slumber. Then there are the four legged fur kids; Ron is in bed with the littlest dog cuddled up to him, Ralph is stretched out on the chair and ottoman and Minnie is residing as close to the furnace in the family room as she can.

It amazes me how blessed I am. I am alive, I have a family that is not traditional but is our family; his, mine, foster, adopted and people who consider us parental figures. I am missing the momma but was fortunate that our relationship had changed for the better in the last few years.

Went to Dr. Kinsella who is a neurologist. He comes to Bowling Green from St. Louis every Tuesday. He explained to me about the energy I am exerting and my fatigue. Before I was walking through air and it was easy, now I am walking through molasses and it’s difficult. So for me to walk is exerting two to three times the energy that a normal person would. He also thinks I am putting to much pressure on recovery time and to schedule naps. That rest has to be part of the rehab. I will be getting 400 units of botox in January in the leg this is up a 100 units from the October injection. Also will be reducing the muscle relaxer to a more comfortable level besides zombie. I have been referred to an orthopedic to have them look at the rotator cuff.  Fun fun. I am glad that we are funding so many Dr.’s  children’s college funds.

Advent service outlines are done and this Sunday we celebrate the Hanging of the Greens services at both churches. I love this service. It is also the one Sunday I dress down.  Jeans to church, now hope I can find a pair to wear.

Last night I made devilled eggs and the gluten free stuffing.  We bought a dinner from a local restaurant Meme’s. It came with a 15 lb turkey, stuffing, gravy, rolls, cranberry relish, and pies. I am doing mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, and green beans. Am making some gluten free cornbread for me. We of course will have olives seems Ron and I are the ones that enjoy those. Will do the appetizers of teriyaki meatballs, little smokies and chilli cheese dip.

I hurt, I tire easily and can be moody, crying at a commercial. I have fears of letting folks down when in reality that is me worrying about that. I am blessed, truly I am. At times I am weak but others perceive me as strong. But I persevere. I have my husband who is my rock, I have ALL my children that bring me pride, laughter, angst, frustration, those shake your head moments and always have my love.

I have my prayer warriors all across this land who will pray for me when I ask and even when I don’t ask. I have been blessed that my vocation is my calling and I serve two amazing churches who have their own uniqueness and history.

Mostly I am blessed to have my relationship with God. He is my everything. I always think of the names of God and Jesus; Comforter, Redeemer, the I Am…without my faith in the last year it would have been a bleak year. There was always the SonLight  coming through to bathe me in His glory and give me comfort.

I have had the strongest prayer life in the past year where the focus in prayer was strong and steady and centered even when my mind was scattered and not able to fix on thoughts or find the right words. I have definitely “prayed without ceasing”.

I wish you all not a Happy Thanksgiving but a Blessed Thanksgiving.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Thanksgiving day ramblings

Leave a Reply

