Hurting Arm, Chocalate Frosting Thief and No Birthday for You

 

 

 

 

 

 

A comical dilemma:I took a couple of stumbles yesterday. 

First one was trying to get into Durango, Durango was up higher due to snow piled up and I couldn’t get in and hit my left hand, arm and side. Ron was trying to lift me up, I was trying to crawl in, lift my leg in, and kept on slipping or falling. Glad there was no one filming. Second one was leaving Krogers last night and slipping on ice getting into rig. When I started to fall,  in my intelligence tried to stop myself instinctively with the hand not holding the cane and then realized that wouldn’t work but realizing I was going to fall and my body was committed even if my mind wasn’t.

Dilemma was hand is swollen and I can’t move fingers to tell if broken or bruised but can’t anyway due to stroke. I couldn’t tell the pain level due to limited to no sensation in my arm and hand. So, iced the hand last night, put heat on the shoulder.  I guess I was lukewarm.  Woke up last night with hand contracted into a tight fist, woke up the beloved and he wrestled it open.

Today swelling is down but hand is very very stiff.

Today is the Princesses’ birthday, Or it was.  I mean it is the date of her birthday, she still turns 9 but no party or excursion into the city today.

We have been having problems with her sneaking out of her room at night and gorging. We have talked with her, the counselor has talked to her, the case workers from Children’s Division and Arthur Center have talked to her. Last night we put her to bed; reminding her to stay in bed and all the things we were doing today. A movie, eating at her favorite restaurant (IHOP), going to Hobby Lobby to get the butterflies for her bedroom wall and a trip to Goodwill. (My kids think this is the mall.)

This morning Ron woke up to her on the floor in the living room, calling the dogs over and feeding them this:

Image It was an unopened full can.  I stress the IT WAS. She also ate tortilla chips.  So to say the least, plans changed.  And the other kiddos are not happy.  Some may think this is harsh but the raiding of pantry and not sleeping is now day 3. And we have to stick to our guns.

Years from now we will look back and laugh at this.  Right now we are in amazement over her eating ability.  No, she isn’t overweight.  She is 47 pounds at age 9.  Yes, we do feed her. Three meals a day and a snack.  We even give out healthy deserts of fruits or yogurt. 

So today is a work day.  Older kiddos are cleaning, little one is watching a movie and Princess is in my office with me being bored.

Tomorrow I am praying that we have Church services.  I need to see grown up people.  Remember no matter what goes in life, you have got to keep smiling.

 

 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

