God’s Not Dead

After worship today I was invited to join a group of women to go to a movie. Ron agreed to handle the kiddos alone and give me some adult time.  I was pretty excited. We went to see God’s Not Dead.

I was curious as I had not heard much buzz about it. Plus I am a fan of Kevin Sorbo and Dean Cain. How often do you see Hercules and Superman in the same movie? Plus I am a huge fan of the Newsboys and live their song, “God’s Not Dead”. It is also the Princesses favorite song.

The movie exceeded my expectations. It was woven around several characters. The movie was multi dimensional, not just about a freshman and his professor debating the existence of God. It was about people knowing God, being true to Him, turning to Him, coming to know Him and some refusing to see. It spoke of God’s timing in our lives.

It was thought provoking, it was moving and surprising.  People in the theater clapped, they cheered and I know there was shock and tears.

We live in a jaded world where we are suppose to embrace our differences but often we give lip service to this. We are worried about being politically correct and not doing what we feel comfortable doing. We put other things first and forget or choose not to put God first. We don’t want to offend so we compromise ourselves. We became overly tolerant and lose ourselves. We fear judgement and being offensive to others. So we hold back. We become ashamed of out faith, our relationship and our Christianity.

Now please understand I am not saying it’s OK to be intolerant, racist, condemning, or judgmental. The basis of the New Covenant is to love one other. But we don’t love as we should, we aren’t kind and generous as we should be, and we are not as giving to one another as we should be. We need to treat others as we would want to be treated. An example of this is Fred Phelps death and the opinion to picket his funeral as he did so many others. Wouldn’t the actions of Christ be to honor the family and treat this with love and not hate.

We give in to the world. Whereas as Christians we should be not living to please the world but to please God. We should be reaching out and being the hands and feet of Christ serving others as He did. We should not compromise our faith to make our lives easier. God’s not dead, but sometimes we act as if He was the guy that just gave His son to die on the cross forgetting Jesus resurrected for us and He is ALIVE. Our story never ends at the cross but goes to the tomb and the promise we have that Jesus will come again.

God’s Not Dead but sometimes I think our faith and actions are.

We need to shout and share our faith. We need to show our personal relationship with the living Saviour, we need to put God first in all things.

God is good all the time
All the time God is good.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “God’s Not Dead

  1. Spoiler alert**
    I just saw the movie today, and I’m glad I did. However, there were aspects about it that painted the characters with much too broad a stroke. For instance, the philosphy professor (Kevin Sorbo) was a characiature of the unrelenting, angry atheist. I doubt that any professor would make a class write “God is Dead” and turn it in without anyone, not one student saying a peep, nor do I believe an entire class would change their minds at the end without further debate. This is a movie that is written for insiders, believers, which is the main issue of the movie. However, as a believer, I am encouraged to speak up for my faith and the movie brought that message loud and clear. It also showed me that dispite how vocal people can be about hating God, we really don’t know what’s in their heart of hearts and why they don’t believe. Deep down, people are searching for God and do know He exists.This is shown in Kevin Sorbo’s character as well as Dean Cain’s dying ex-girlfriend. Hey, I should write a review on my blog! Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

