Galatians 5 and looking in the mirror

Two day blog:
March 24
Seemed to the take forever to get to Bible study tonight; kids, gas, trains in the way. Divide and conquer the kiddos, 2 with us and 2 at home. We had to remember to get gas so I wouldn’t have to push the car to New Harmony. Then in the first time forever we had to wait for a train in Curryville.

I was a bit nervous of this study in Galatians 5 because it speaks of circumsision with a lot of focus on it due to Paul and Peter’s difference of opinion and its not a fun topic. So I knew the only thing to save the conversation was to introduce it, get insights and move on so we could talk about the sins and the fruit (singular) of the spirit. We talk of the history of the time with Judaism, pagan sects and followers of The Way. Loved the conversation, different points of view, insights, questions and how we apply this today. There are different versions of the Bible, study guides and books that are all used. And people all talk. This type of study excites me.

Next week we will do Galatians 6 and then begin working on the “little books”. I love these studies. Love having the Word come to life. Even I see it in new ways.

March 25

Mornings come too early. Getting 4 kiddos ready for school is not a fun endeavor. Princess and the Teen have to shower. Brandon and Baby Hubcap have to get moving and dressed.

Forms had to be signed, backpacks doubled checked, arguments diverted and loud noises not made. Princess comes out with an outfit of green cammo leggings, a short denim skirt with purple trim and a pink butterfly shirt.  I chose not to batt!e it and just sent an email about her cough and letting the teacher know she dressed herself.  Baby Hubcap had preschool pictures and one brown shoe was missing. I began tearing rooms apart to find that shoe. No shoe found. No idea where it went. Baby Hubcap say,”Was Brandon or the dogs ate it gone.” By the grace of God the three older ones make it out the door and to the bus stop on time.

Ron took Hubcap to school. I had taken a tumble and fell on my knees and head was hurting again so I decided to lay down a bit. My eyes weren’t staying open. I slept until 11:30. My body is shutting down at times and I have to listen to it, Use to think naps were a waste of time as you could be able to do things…well not anymore.

Went into office and begun working on newsletter. Had my class tonight for Women’s Ministry. Loved it!!  Hard to look at yourself so honestly but it is sooo needed. This Ministry is building a passion in my heart.

Sometimes we need to take a self inventory of ourselves and be honest. Do it in a manner not to tear ourselves down but also to build us up. God tells us in Jeremiah that we are fiercely and wonderfully made. But sometimes we don’t buy it. Take a look in the mirror what do you see?

This is what I see:

Bad: need to lose weight, my hand still curls,my leg tries to point out, short
Satan preying on these

Good: eye color, lip shape, great haircut,
God saying you are my creation and I love you

Other bad: speech slurs at time,voice chokes, depression, self doybt,try to be cool,vanity with shoes and clothing
Satan reminding me of what I can’t do

Other good: loving, joking, caring, still have a voice, humor, prayerful, hopeful, honest, filled with faith
God saying you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.

I am not perfect nor do I have to be. I strive to be the best I can be and to rely on His own understanding.
Will I fail? Yep.
Will I be forgiven? Yep. 
Do I have to try?Yep.

I keep on thinking what is the rest of my journey with this stroke and I realize it doesn’t matter. I will live the journey and I will try with all my might to put God first,

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

