Botox, medications and needing momma advice

Today was botox day. Not the glamorous or self beautifying type that never made sense to me but the medical type.  Botox is now used for medical reasons; migraines and muscle spatisticity in stroke patients. This was my 3rd round. Today was 400 units in my calf. It is a strange sensation.

My appointment was at 11:20 and didn’t get until until 12:30.  But Dr. Kinsella is an excellent doctor and today had a new patient who he took time with. And he was thorough with answering my questions and making sure my new meds were working. As he was doing the shots, he does them in three areas with six shots, he tells you there will be a little pinch. In the past I could not feel those pinches at all. Today I felt two spots very very very deeply. Someone asked if I said, “Hallelujah!” I said, “Moses, ouchie!”.  Some of the feeling is coming back.

We are trying to get an extension with the insurance company for physical therapy. They apparently only allow 20 visits a year and the Dr wants me to continue with the shoulder and start with the leg. So that would be a great pray for you all.

The new med Topomax or nicknamed dopemax. It makes you dopey and tired. Or more dopey and tired. Hard to concentrate. It feel like I am more ADD. I don’t multi task as I use to be able to. I can’t play music and work. My file cabinets in my brain can only be opened one at a time and I rely more on list and my calendar. And with my meds it is even worse, (gasp) I even have to use notes again to preach.

Lately, I have been missing The Momma a bit more. I have so many things I want to talk to her about, ask her about, even hear her snarky answers and her cussing like a sailor. She wasn’t the greatest mother but she was the mother I knew and had. She wasn’t affectionate and loving with us kids but was with the grandsons and great grandson. At the end of her life she’d say I love you. She didn’t have an easy life but was a survivor. I think of all the family gone and small my family has gotten. Most of my family were/are non believers and it makes me heart sick. I have shared, prayed and testified and prayed again.

I am blessed I have a husband who is a man of God. Who leads the family by example. We pray at meals be it at home or public.

Him: you pray
Me: you pray
Him: your the Pastor
Me: your the head of the household
Him: as the head of the household I am telling you to pray

He is my strength, he teaches the children, he shows affection, discipline, humor and love.  He has been amazing during my affliction teaching me to laugh and that it is OK to be weak at times.

We keep marching, limping along as a family that is near and far, that covers 3 states and 2 countries and ranges from his, mine,adopted, foster, camp, church, and RYC kids from ages 39 to 4. We are tired, we are poor in money but we are blessed in love and rich in God’s blessings and grace,

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Botox, medications and needing momma advice

  1. Your blogs are a blessing; I just now got caught up on a few I hadn’t taken the time to read….my bad. I was thrilled to see you at the Hope Center Volunteer Dinner Monday night. WOW…..you were lovely in your trendy dress, shoes and beautiful hair. I do hope you felt as good as you looked!!! šŸ™‚ You are truly an inspiration and a blessing.

    I had no idea Ron could sing….WOW….God has truly blessed him with a beautiful voice. I thank him for sharing his gift with us that evening.

    Thanks to both of you for all you do in His name.

    Like

Leave a Reply

