Strange happenings and the beauty of washing feet

Have you ever been awakened with not just a full bladder but with your head full of words. It is 3:08 a.m. and I had both issues. The phrase that comes to my mind is “they had visions of sugar plums dancing in their heads”. Only I have words dancing in mine begging to be written out and have a fluidity of movement. Or at least I hope so.

Thursday was a full day. Trying to get services pounded out and finessed. Phone calls, visitors and emails were all in the mix of this.  My dream team of my secretary Ramona and my worship chair Judy, took my ideas and my visions and made them into a reality.

The communion table was moved forward and simply dressed with a purple cloth. On it were 2 tall candles with a cup and a plate for the communion by intinction (aka rip and dip). In the center was a beautiful plate of grapes and bread.

Candles were throughout the sanctuary. Give a soft intimate glow with the light dimmed low. In the back room, was a basin, pitcher and towel on a table. The rest of the room had candles and greenery. They had placed a lot stool for me and a chair for my assistant. The congregation would use the pew that is back there. The effect was amazing, just as the vision was placed in my head.

The service was blessed. God was present. Only 4 songs were played all on the screen; Servant Song, Basin and the Towel, In Remembrance of Me, and Be Still and Know. The homily or short sermon was about Jesus being a servant and our call to serve. The three scriptures were the foot washing scripture, the Last Supper Scripture and the Garden of Gethsemane. The actions were the foot washing and the Communion. It was amazing. I usually critique the service but this one felt right. This one felt like the hand of God was truly on it. I don’t mean to imply other services haven’t had GOD’S touch and blessings but right now in this place and time it was right and it was good and it had God’s touch.

I became the hands of Jesus as I washed the feet or han of those there, from ages ranging from 94 to 6 months. As I washed I prayed over each person. We have hot hand towels that are rolled and placed in a turkey roaster (thank you Walk with Christ for teaching me this trick). Tonight the towels were hot, we had to shake them out to cool a bit. People find it divine and often do not want me stop.

It is important we remember that Christ not only was God incarnate but he was a man. He felt all we felt, hunger, cold and despair. We see that in the garden,when he asks…begs God that if he wants if it is his will  to take this cup from him. Jesus was a servant, he was humble to the point of kneeling and washing feet.  This was something only the servant or even the slave did in the homes. Clean the dusty feet of the travelers or visitors. Not something an ordinary person would do.

We need to humble ourselves. “Humble, thyself in the sight of the Lord, and He shall lift you up..higher and higher…”

Later today is Good Friday Services; community at noon and New Harmony at 6:30 p.m. I am doing the last words of Jesus on the cross intermixed with “Were You There?”

This was the first time I was not able to have Ron present. We had decided that he would stay home with the mix n match crew. Baby Hubcap would be bouncing. Princess did not get to sleep until past 2 a.m. and The Teen and Brandon were given the choice. So selfishly, I didn’t have the kid distraction but I did miss the hubby presence.

Now to the strange silly things.

I have a human snooze button called Ron, I laid down to nap before services when Ron arrived home at 4:30, I asked him to let me sleep  until 5:15. At 5:15 he came in and woke me up and I asked for 15 more minutes.

I wear a small Celtic cross necklace that holds a very very minute amount of my Mom’s ashes. On the back is engraved with a heart and the word Mom. As I was getting ready to go back over to the church mom committed suicide. Somehow the pendant part had screwed loose from the stopper. Which is the part that attaches to the chain. I panicked. Got down on my hands and knees and started looking a bit frantically, Ron came in to help and he found her. Ron reassured me we had not lost the ashes. I hope not but it’s hard to tell. Really it is not the ashes that the necklace is about but a way for me to have her with me. Also a way to remember to treat my children better than she did us.  I loved my mom but she was not always a presence that was present.

OK time to return to the land of Nod. Mix n match are out of school for Good Friday and there is no telling what time they will get up.

I encourage you to listen to Dr. Lockridge’s,”It’s Friday but Sunday’s Coming”. I will post it later today when I am at a computer and not just a tablet. God Bless you all.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Strange happenings and the beauty of washing feet

  1. Oh my, the service must have been heart-touching ❤ to the point of breath-taking! I am so sorry I couldn't be there; I worked 2-10 that day with a constant stream of customers. I wish every employee and customer in Walmart that evening had witnessed your service; I believe many hearts could have been changed. May God bless you and give you must needed peace and rest today. Let "Calgon" take you away! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

