Easter Sunday joy and limitations

Today was Easter Sunday. The day started here at 5:30 a.m. to get 4 kids and 2 adults out the door by 6:30. We made it.

Sunrise or very early morning service was at 7:30 a.m. and I used 1/2 sheet bulletins this year with litany mixed with fire, candle, singing, poetry, meditation and prayer. It all worked. Weather permitted us to hold it outside and we had it underneath the picnic shelter. Walking out there was a bit precarious due to the uneven ground.

Breakfast was amazing.  Love the fresh fruit Marion B. brings every year. There is such incredible foods. Much of it I cannot eat due to my celiacs. (Insert sad face and sniffles.)

New Harmony service was more a service of baptism. Two folks were baptised; a woman in her 50’s and a young man who is twelve. Melvin F. was my hands and feet for the baptisms this year as I can’t climb into the baptismal and I can’t support them during the baptism. Was bittersweet, as I wanted to do the baptisms but knew I could not. This service too just felt right. We had approximately 78 in worship. Was pretty cool. In the last 2 months,we have welcomed 2 by baptisms and 2 by transfer.

Bowling Green I arrived at 10:42 service starts at 10:45 a.m. I think I cut it close. We had on Friday moved the pulpit down so I did not have to maneuver the steps over and over. It seemed to work well.  This service had a few similar elements as the first service but basically was completely different. This service too went very well and we averaged in the 50’s.  God is blessing me.

By the third service I was wiped out but elated. Move that stone was a reality. Christ had risen.

We had parents over to spend Easter dinner with 2 of the foster children. They ate heartily, played with their kiddos and ate heartily some more.  Felt good to be hospitable.

Off to land of Nod with my swollen ankle and sausage toys. I am praising God and saying Alleluia.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

