Responsibility

Women for years have had a variety of responsibilities; childbirth, cooking, cleaning, nurturing, being the caregiver, cheerleader and partner to a spouse.  Many gardened, canned, had chickens, baked, did laundry by hand, made soap, sewed and often worked in the fields.

Some were secretaries, clerks, waitresses,  hostesses, cooks and teachers. During World War II, they took on the “man” jobs. Times began to change and more and more women began to work outside the home. It is a rarity to be a stay at home mom or housewife.  Mostly now it is due to finances and the change in households.

My mom started working at the family funeral home when she was 15. She never worked another job and she was a brilliant bookkeeper.  She actually never finished high school courtesy of my arrival when she was 17.  My mom always worked.

When I had my older boys, I stayed home until my youngest son was 9 months old, then I took a part time job at a video store at night when their daddy got home. I than had to get a job to help with finances.

My responsibilities have changed as my life has changed. Just as my spiritual life has changed.  I have a responsibility to my Abba. I have a responsibility to my spirituality-to maintain it as I should. I have a responsibility to my husband and my children,  to my friends.  I have a responsibility to my churches.

The churches are a large responsibility. Somedays I think I do pretty well,  someday I think I am lacking. Somedays I am Wonder Woman—NOT.  Days can be amazing or you can crash and burn. I at times will take too much responsibility.

I have to let people make mistakes, I have to not blame myself when something goes wrong when I was not involved (if I had a part, I take responsibility). I have to remember ultimately folks are only truly responsible to God.

I am trying to teach our younger children responsibility and accountability.  Often this means watching them fail and not trying to fix it all for them.  Parents do that a lot, child wants help with a project and we are suddenly helping them, it becomes our project. When the grade comes in, we wonder why I got a B and not an A.

Aren’t there days, where we don’t want to be the responsible one?  We want to be the one to do nothing or spend our days doing whatever we would like whenever we want. 

Luckily or sadly, depending on your viewpoint,  some of us aren’t wired that way.  We are responsible.  

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

