Happy Anniversary

This morning, I woke up to find myself married to the same man for 21 years. Now here in Missouri that is a baby anniversary. In our area we have people  married 40, 50, 60 years and that is more common than uncommon.  Now in Washington that would be a big deal, maybe.  For Ron and I it is, 21 years wow!
Now if you combine our previous marriage years and the one’s we have been married, we would be making history. He was married 20 years his first marriage and I had 9 years in. Sadly (or gladly for us) they didn’t work. His first wife was an alcoholic who couldn’t handle his recoving from alcoholism. My ex and I suffered a horrible tragedy that our marriage could not heal from although we tried.
Ron and I were friends first. So we saw each other not in the dating glamor but in reality.  We were there threw bad times for one another;  my brother’s death,  his daughter’s issues, and our individual break ups. He watched me date after my divorce and often gave me scathing critiques.
He told me one day he loved me and I didn’t talk to him for six months.  He scared me to death, I didn’t want to lose my best friend by mucking it up with romance. One day he called, I answered, we talked. He said as he was hanging up, I love you.  I said, love you too, bye. Within 10 seconds of me hanging up the phone, he had called back.
We were married December 11, 1993 in Coure d’ Alene, Idaho at the Hitching Post. After getting some repairs done on our car that was broken into the night before.
In attendance were my two sons Patrick and Nicholas. We dressed in Western attire. Remember this was at the rage of the Garth Brooks era. The boys wore matching psychedelic western shirts, black wranglers, ropers and looped rope belts. Ron wore a similiar outfit. We still have the shirt.  I wore a burgundy broomstick skirt, white frilly shirt, satin patterned vest and blavk victorian boots. I still have the vest. Nick was our ring bearer, Pat our photographer.  Ron didn’t have a head in many photos as I am 4’11 and he is 5’10 and Pat was a bit shorter than.
Our wedding night and honeymoon consisted of me sleeping in one bed with two boys, Ron in the other watching NPR  (National Pro Rodeo) Finals on ESPN. We had ice cream, went to a toy store and in Spokane went to The Walk in the Wild Zoo (which is no longer there).
That was the start of our journey.  A journey it has been. Ups and downs, joys and pitfalls, mistakes made by us both. Losses and celebrations, fights, tears and the words spoken “I am sorry” “you are forgiven”. We have been through a lot. Poorer, sickness and health, good times and bad…we are still waiting for the richer.
We have come closer to God together in our faith. Which has been a key to us in our imperfections.  Because no matter how bad we mess up, God is that third strand in our marriage.  A cord of three strands is not easily broken from Ecclesiastes. And if God can forgive ANY sin who are we not to forgive one another.
Ron has  been my rock through my illness. It is nice to laugh with him, talk with him or sit silently in a room with maybe just a feet touching or some other small contact.
I am blessed to have my husband be a man I like to spend my time with and understands me like no one else can.  He understands my crazy as well as my  normal. Here to the next 21 years.1656193_10152069743128402_1477254448_n

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Happy Anniversary

Leave a Reply

