Christmas Eve Eve

image
Rose and Brandon 2014

    Waiting for these two to fall asleep to wrap gifts as tomorrow we won’t have time.  It’s amazing how far these two have come in the time they have been with us. They are wound up for Christmas but as much as they are excited for their gifts, they are also excited to make cookies and take them to the neighbors, a few in the “Highrise” and some folks in the nursing homes.
     How we “do” Christmas with the Littles as opposed to our older kids is so different as we don’t have family that comes over or places we have to go to.  Christmas Eve service is important. This year will be chilli and cornbread after service. The kids will get their Christmas jammies and get to open one gift.  That tradition was one my mom did with us and I did with my older kids.
     Christmas  morning will be presents, clean up, breakfast (waffles, fried apples and venison bacon), cookie making, cookie delivery and then home for dinner.
     No big fancy dinner to cook. Ron is going to grill three steaks (no meat for our Rose and no making her try it), baked macaroni and cheese and green beans.
    Probably a lot of toy playing and Ron and I watching. We don’t have perfect kids, they have a lot of needs. But we can’t imagine our lives without them. The Littles adore their older siblings.  To the point of hero worship:

“I want to be a warrior like Pat.”
“I want to serve my country. ”
“I want too go everywhere like Nick.”
“Does Nick have a pet tiger.” (She saw a picture of him in Thailand petting tigers.)
“Does Sissy get to stay home all the time and not go to school?”
“Can I read comic books all the time like KT?”

    And the list goes on. I do regret that we all live scattered about; Canada, Spokane, Idaho,  Everett, and Missouri. Part of having our children grow up is having them get their own lives and their own families. So we are doing something right.   I am proud  of all my kids and am soo blessed.
    I use to read a book to Pat and Nick and I have not made it a thing with the Littles as I have felt it was just my thing with my Strand boys.
     “I will love you forever,
      I will like you for always
      As long as I am living your mommy I’ll be.”

 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

