Cold, colder, coldest, really cold

image

Baby, it is cold out and the temperature is dropping. As I look out the window there’s a light skiff of snow. Temperature are to drop to below zero tonight with wind chill factors in play making it even colder. A lot of the schools the Saint Louis area have already cancelled schools. It is a waiting game to see what they’ll do here. I can’t imagine them having children walking to school or waiting on school buses in that cold. Princess Rose can’t handle temperatures below 30. They have been warning people on the news about not staying out too long due to frostbite. A lot of things that seem like common sense to a lot of us, sometimes has to be explained. They say that even 15 to 20 minutes will give you frostbite.

This time of night in my house is quiet. The children tucked into their beds. Ron tucked into our bed softly snoring (sometime not so softly). The dogs in their assorted sleeping spots. The rumble of the heater as it fires up and goes and the various  night sounds of the household appliances. The ticking of the various clocks, and my mom’s grandfather clock sounding the quarter hour, half hour and hour. That sound still reminds me of her and her home.  Tonight we add to the normal sounds; the sound of the wind, rattling of windows and doors, the outdoor chimes and a few whistles that sound through as the wind plays it’s  melody.

I know I should be snuggled in my bed next to my beloved. Tonight I need the stillness (semi-stillness) to pray and to write. Praying for friends, churches, communities and families. Praises for many things; for ALL our kiddos ages 40 to 9. I am so proud of each and everyone one of them. Praises for the riches we have-shelter, transportation, warmth (especially this week) and love. Grateful for forgiveness toward others and by others.

Life is not perfect but it is not horrible. Someone out there always has it worse off than you.  No matter what is thrown your way, you have to be strong enough to know when you can handle it yourself and when you need help.  Asking for help is often one of the greatest strengths you can show.

This year I am asking for some help in prayer.  I have two personal goals I want to accomplish this year.
1 – start writing a book (techinally finish it to)
2 – figure a way to lose weight with only 1/2 a  functional body.

We as a family have some goals but we aren’t going to be able to share these at this time. But prayer is greatly appreciated. 

The cold and quiet with prayer and writing  have made me sleepy. Time for me crawl back into the warmth of my bed with my own heating pad aka Ron.

Stay warm, stay safe and stay in prayer.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

