A Simple Love

Life has been life. Living day by day; juggling work, being a wife, mommy, daughter, household chores, meetings and all the small things that happen. This is not just my life but the life of hundreds and hundreds of thousands of women and men. Days are days followed by more days with no change of routine unless something breaks down or an emergency happens. Then we just chalk that up as part of life.

image

On those days where unexpected small gifts happen is where you find where the love is at. Your child doing something simply to do it not with an ulterior motive or angle. A friend calling to just share a silly story. Your husband doing the dishes or making dinner because you had a tough day.

Valentine’s Day is creeping up on us. It has become a day where over extravagance is expected and hoped for, where romance has become a day of higher and unreal expectations. I used to be one of those people. I wanted hearts, flowers, chocolates, violins, etc…but I married a man who loved me but was not who was as described above.

What I have found he is a man who shows his love daily in so many other ways. He holds my hand, he tells me he loves me, he is my caregiver since the strokes, he is my confidante and my best friend. Do I sometimes,  just sometimes want an inkling of that other romance?

Yes. But that type of thinking can lead to trouble. I don’t have a hubby of grand gestures but I have a hubby of daily small often sweet gestures. I love this man of mine. He has put up with me for 21 years of marriage and as friends 3 years prior to that. We have had ups, downs, crashes and burns, celebrations and silliness. But we have always always made sure separation/divorce was never an option.

Love is not always the grand gestures but often, so more than often it is the ordinary things, the day to day things, the little things and first and foremost the love of God in our marriage.

For Ron and I it was when we actively made God the third strand in our marriage.  “A cord of three strands is not easily broken. ” 

I am blessed to first most have the love of my Abba, than the love of my children, the love of my children and the love of my husband who is part of my heartbeat.

Now I do know my beloved will read this and he will humbly take it all in and will just tell me, yes he read the blog.  So Mr. T, I LOVE YOU, I thank you, I kinda like you and you are stuck with me, always and forever.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “A Simple Love

Leave a Reply

