Silly Senseless Sleeping Summary

image

Remember when you were little and you would snuggle in your covers and you go to sleep all warm and cozy. Remember when you get older and would try to stay up all night and avoid the Sandman reading a book by flashlight . Remember watching your children sleep peacefully and seeing the angel in them.

I am at the point in my life, where I need to be sleeping all the time whereas before I couldn’t sleep at all. Actually right now, it’s a fight to stay awake. It’s frustrating to me as I used to think naps were a waste of time.  If you were sleeping, how could you get everything done. What might you miss? Who might you not see? Napping was for weaklings. And oh now, how the tables have turned.

My body has decided it needs to sleep and to sleep often. Some times not just a short nap, noooo, it will be 4 hours or more. My days off have become sleep days.  Wasted days where nothing is accomplished where I awaken feeling like I failed as a wife and mother. Rip Van Winkle would understand my frustration. 

I go to bed usually no later than 10:30 p.m. but usually between 8:30 or 9 and wake up with kiddos at 6:15 a.m. I wake up achey but expect that. I go into the office and work. I might stop for lunch, if I sit in my chair at home, I am out. On Saturday and Mondays, I will sleep. I will get up in a.m. and take care of things and by 11, my eyes won’t stay open. I will lay down and next thing I will know it is time to start dinner.  Sundays after church services I nap. This pastt Monday, Ron let me sleep and I didn’t wake up until 3:45 p.m. and was ready for bed by 9 p.m. and slept through the night.

On those days at work, I try to be high energy and productive. Try to keep the creativity going and am in constant conversation with God. By the end of the day though it feels like I am a maple tree and someone has tapped me for my syrup.

Do I have the African Sleeping Disease? Am I sick and don’t know it? Has all this sleeping caused me to develop a snore.  (The kiddos say I snore, that has to be something new.)

Many folks would say this is not a problem at all, they love to sleep. Sleep is good. I love sleep but not in an excess. I want to not feel my eyes go droopy and heavy. I don’t want to feel lethargic.  I want to be back to my energizer bunny self. Sleeping a normal schedule, being awake on my days off to enjoy my family and not looking like a corpse (well a corpse that snores and drools).

I have a prayer team on this. God is on this. Thursday,  I go see the doctor and see if between us all we can get me to wake up, smell the roses and be energized all the time.

So what was the purpose of this blog…I am not the Princess and the Pea with the lumpy bed, I am not Sleeping Beauty as I can’t sing those high notes. ..I am just someone who doesn’t want to sleep all the time. So I guess this was my Silly Senseless Sleeping Summary.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

