Continued Saga of a Stroke Body

image

I posted this on my Facebook page tonight:
“My pride and my body both took a tumble tonight. I was laying out clothing for tomorrow morning and went to the closet to get a pair of boots. They were of course the one’s on the lowest shelf, I bent down and leaned to far left and lost my balance. I fell forward hitting my head, shoulder, left arm and knees. I ended up getting stuck in the closet with my hind end in the air. Great a full moon outside and inside tonight. After the initial shock of pain and realizing I couldn’t get myself out, I began calling help and Ron’s name. After about 5 minutes, Ron comes back and asks what is going on and where am I as he can’t see me from the door. I mumble closet knowing that this does not look good. I can hear him muffling laughter as he helps me out.  He promises me now, he will get me a bigger prayer closet.”

It is both laughable, funny, sad, and also filled with a lot of truth.  I had fallen and could not get out of that ridiculous position.  If I had been alone there is no telling how long I would have been there. I was there long enough to realize it does need to be vacuumed more often. And I did see a present we had hidden and had forgotten.

My life is a life where I will have to call on others for help. Not just for expertise but for day to day simple things.  It is hard to lose your independence, it is even harder to admit we need help.

Our faith life is much like that, we have to admit we need help. We need someone bigger,  stronger, mightier and more than us. My strokes have taught me not only to lean on people but to lean on Him.

He can even use a lopsided walking closet falling gal like me.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

