My Holy Week

image

In approximately 3 hours and 50 odd minutes Easter Sunday will be over. The Eastertide will continue until we go into Ordinary Times.  This all part of the liturgical calendar. What seems to run a pastor’s life. A constant ebb and flo of liturgical seasons filled with Holy Days, colors of the cloth and if you are lectionary minded the given scriptures.

Today, 87.75% (seemed like a nice random semi scientific number) of my colleagues after Holy Week and Easter services, went and ate a filling Easter meal.  Soon after they fell into their favorite easy chair or curled up in their corner of the couch and vegged. This season, especially Holy Week is a difficult week physically,  emotionally and spiritually.

Talking to two of my colleagues a few days ago, it was stated how much energy a Pastor puts out during a sermon. He had the statistics of calories used even. (Some pastor’s are closet geeks.) Another pastor stated how emotionally taxing it was as many of us were introverts by nature and had to teach ourselves to talk to groups of people.  One of most beloved mentors, Rev Don Campbell got physically ill everytime he preached. He was one of the best down home preacher’s I heard.

So you put all these things together with extra services plus the daily work and not counting any extra pastoral emergencies or funerals; by Sunday  afternoon you suffer an elation of pure joy and excitement of your spirit and soul. Than that is conflict with your body reminding you that you are tired. 

This year I had a full week with funerals (yes, plural), special services, community service, Sunrise service and normal services.  I, by no means was the hardest working pastor. We do not do a Saturday vigil and we had no Easter baptisms this year.  I came home with my spirit on the highest mountain top. My body was the betrayer. My left leg was shaking and wobbly and my head was beginning to pound. My mind flashed to Jesus scolding the disciples in the Garden of Gethsemane.  “The spirit is willing but the body is weak.”

So Lent is over. What you gave up will come back.  Easter Sunday is over, the white will be removed from the sanctuary.  The using of the boiled eggs will commence with egg salad sandwiches, devilled eggs, potato salad or eggs just salted and peppered.

What is everyone going to do on the Monday after Easter?

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

