Quiet After the Storm

image

Another thunderstorm has finally ceased and the house is quiet.  Tonight’s lightening was a remarkable light show but the additional rain was not needed.  I always find the irony that we are having flooding and complaining of rain and in California they are suffering with drought conditions. To bad between the two we can’t find a happy medium.

But that can be said of the world right now. Wr are fighting over oppression, freedoms, religions, race, sexuality, you name it…we as humanity will fight over it.  We can’t agree to disagree, we can’t see our similarities. ..we only see that they aren’t like we.  Shootings in churches during a time of prayer. A sense of entitelement because you are of one color and not another.

There is rioting over shootings and not as muc mourning over lives lost. Valuing and judging one color greater or lesser than another when underneath our blood is red and our bones our the same hue. Too bad we just all aren’t purple but than we’d argue over the different hues. 

We disagree about religion and fight and force it upon one another and while the world has a jihad. Forgetting that as Christians we need to get along and stop our “in-fighting, backbiting, my church is better than yours, you better believe as we do” petty philosophy and come together as children of God who love Him and proclaim Him as a God of Love and not a hell fire going zap you in the hiney God.

When Mary conceived Jesus the New Covenant was born, a covenant that spoke of love.  Giving love share, sharing love, showing love, being love….some might say sounds a bit Hippsy Dippsy. To me it sounds like Christianity.

Times are changing. I  don’t have all the the answers but I pray. There are situations in my life, in this world—that I seek clarity and understanding to. That I,  just as many of do, I pray and I  pray.

The house is quiet.
The storm has stilled.
For now.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Quiet After the Storm

Leave a Reply

