This Man

image

   This man has been my best friend, lover, partner, at times my devil’s advocate. He has been patient, humorous and a storyteller. He is a husband, dad, step-dad, grandpa, 25+ year recovering alcoholic and man of God.
   He has stood by my side through good and bad, tragedy and joy. He is a rock. He has been hurt by me and has forgiven me. He is my encouragee, chastiser and the person who makes me smile. He also can frustrate me and irritate me but his goodness far outweighs those times.
    He became a caregiver and house husband after my strokes and allowed me to heal. He never makes me feel more disabled than I am but reminds me to how to get better.
    Our love is not what it was in those initial giddy first years, it is richer, deeper and more. It is a quieter love that is deeply etched and tied together in our love for one another and our faith in God. It is a love that can be conveyed in a look or just in a touch as we walk by each other.
   It is a love that has grown through the trials and imperfections of our humanity to make us bare ourselves to one another. Where absolute honesty became the necessity and not hiding your emotions but sharing them.  That probably comes with maturity. But also with healing. I came to him damaged from my past.
    An abusive childhood (3 different homes and insisting on being on my own at 17), a tragic death of a sibling, the loss of a marriage–and he still wanted me.  God knew.
     I love this man in a deeper way than those four letters can describe. He is a part of me. Yes, I am a strong woman. I am not as independent as I once was but I am not ashamed of that. I need him and not just to be my left side, since that is the side that is still partally paralyzed.  I need him more then to tie my shoes, put on my bra or to be my chauffeur.  I need him because he is who he is, my husband, uniquely mine.
   I need him because he loves me for all my;faults, imperfections, craziness, type A, workaholic, list making, female moodiness, dry wit, geekiness, sci fi nerdiness, bookishness, spur of the moment ideas and hour long baths. He loves me for me.
     He may not give roses, chocolate or jewels but what he gives me is more valuable; time, hugs, the words “I love you”, running errands, praying together and being there for me and his family.
     He is not a perfect man nor am I the perfect woman but what we are is perfect together. God put us together and we will stay that way, until death do we part.
     

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

