Another Shooting in America

image

Another shooting in America, 14 killed, 17 wounded….shooters dead too. We watched another scene play out. Lives lost for what reason we don’t know and we may not know.

Mothers, fathers, sisters, and brothers stripped away from families in one brief moment. These people won’t be walking into their homes or resuming their lives because someone decided for some unknown reason to take their lives.

A disgruntled employee or a terrorist attack or mental illness: something wasn’t right in the heads and hearts of those who held those weapons. They in those moments personified evil. Evil seem to be almost too soft a word.  Something was terribly wrong with them.

Now we are left with another tragedy. Widows and orpans and parents burying children. All the wrong we hate to see but compounded more by the holiday season. My heart aches for those families. Mere words will not be enough.

Politics will stir its ugly head as people debate guns, ancestry and if it all was handled right.  I hope though through the debates and rhetoric that we focus on the humanity. The faces of the mourning, of the wounded, of the stories of hope we will hear.

I have been praying since this began today. Right now that is all I can do. Tomorrow though, I am going to hug my children,  hug my husband and remember to be thankful for that very moment.

We don’t know our time or moment but we can be kinder, gentler, more loving….just more. Because we don’t know when, where, how or why we may be called home,  so wouldn’t it be better to live each day filled with more and lived by right.

I would like to never hear nor see the words, Another Shooting in America,  but sadly I think that is a pipe dream I have. So remember to do unto others as they would do unto you, try to live you life like Jesus (helping others, caring for others), pray, meditate, read the Good Book and be the best you, you can be. Maybe we can have it start with us and the children.

I am still shedding tears tonight.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

