Parenting over Christmas Break

image

I am going to be perfectly and bluntly honest–I am not a fan of long breaks from school. Now I love my children and they are great kids but they become different on school breaks.  They become different creatures. They do not act normal, talk normal, eat normal or have normal sleep patterns.

They act like they are on a placebo induced sugar high bouncing off the ceilings.  Racing up and down the hallway like it is a short track. Refrigerator starts to have a revolving door and a goblin inside eating the food.  His name is, Idontknow and he seems partial to cheese, fruits, leftovers meant for dinner and he is thirsty or that might be his sister, Wasntme.

Bravery seems to be in abundance also as backtalking and defiance increases.  But soon withers with a wilted look as the adult piercing stare penetrates through the teenage brain.  Pouting increases when the word NO is heard and flourishes of flouncing off and lips sticking out increases. 

You could let the teenager vegetate in his locker room, oops meant bedroom, for sixteen hours playing video games only coming out for food but that would be bad parenting.  So you limit the screen time so you can have family time and see the lovely face. The face that is sighing, moping and being pained to be in your presence. Unless there is a chance you might buy them something.

Now the younger one, you think is being semi angelic.  Playing with her toys, taking 3 days to clean her room.
Playing quietly. Coming out for a hug and kiss.  Night comes and you are reading your email and therr are 6 Kindle charges of joke book and a subscription to LaNacion.  I immediately blame surly teen.  Noooo, it is girl child who had taken my Kindle and bought some joke books to read in the deep of the night. I am assuming she wanted to learn a second language.

They said they were bored so I gave them chores, wss then told I hated them. I am not sure if I am supposed to put on my clown costume and makeup and perform for them. They said they were hungry, I said eat,  apparently the ogres ate and drank everything because they wanted Taco Bell. They said they wanted to go to a movie,  so I popped popcorn and put on Netflix and turned out the lights.  They wanted a “real” theater.

They just aren’t happy.

We still 5 days to go before they return to school, Missouri is flooding. …hubby is teaching me the Serenity prayer.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Parenting over Christmas Break

  1. Parents everywhere feel your pain…I’ve taken to putting up daily post-its with chores for the day. My son had to “wash, dry, fold, & put away” one load of his clothes today. When things went super fast at the end I asked how he managed to fold them so quickly; he said, “Well, I didn’t actually fold them. There really isn’t a point since…” and his voice trailed off as he saw my face register the THOUSANDS of hours I’ve wasted folding his clothes.

    Five days to go. We can make it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

