Remembering Ron’s Brother

image

image

The man in the picture above was my husband’s brother, David. He died Sunday, February 21, 2016. He did not die of the cancer that had wracked his lungs, of that he was miraculously cured. He died suddenly and unexpectedly in his grandson’s arms. He left many hearts empty and tears flowing.

I did not know David as well a  the rest of the family. I am a second wife who was a touch younger than her husband married to the baby brother that snuck into the picture late in his parents  lives. So we weren’t able to go with the retired folks on their trips. I only saw him on quick lunch stops as we travelled or they travelled through. So my memories of David were always seen through my beloved eyes.

David was the next to youngest to Husband Ron. Although the other three brothers were stair steps.  Ron lived with David, worked with David, party’d  with  David, sang with David and loved his family.

This past year Ron and he spoke more often. I encouraged Ron in November to take a trip in November to spend time with David in Idaho. It became a reunion of all four brothers.  Ron was able to done honey do’s , talk with Dave and his wife of 46 years Bert and of course the boys had a sing along. David had his best week. So did Ron.

The past week in idaho is when I truly met David. I met him through the love of his daughters, his wife,grandchildren,great grandchildren,his brothers, his son in law, nephews,neighbors and friends. I heard  funny stories, sad stories , touching stories. I
heard stories of how many people felt his presence on the night he died and in the days since. He was a busy boy.

I regret that I didn’t have time to know David in a deeper sense but as one of his smart relatives say, “everything happens for a reason”.  I formed some deep and instant connections with members of the family. I use to think of them as Ron’s family as many I had never met Now I lay possession to the title Aunt Dawn ( except Kerri and Mr. M, that would be just weird) and I feel fiercely protective toward baby girl B to gentle giant Josh and our Amazon Queen Chyrelle to our little parrot B, the rowdy three boys, the three princesses of the family; Wendy,Jennifer and Amber and of course the Queen Momma Bert. Kerri feels like a sister I never knew. Mr M’s growl still makes my knees shake a bit.  I will worry about Isaac and Heather. This is my family. What I learned of David was family. What David gave me was a family.

Ron’s eyes are still sad. His heart is still heavy. A quartet has become a trio. Yet he still smiles at a memory. He hums or sings a certain song under his breath with a wistful sign. Healing will take time  and part of him will be in Idaho Falls worrying about Bert, the girls and the rest of the family. Uncle Ron has a big love for all of them as does Aunt Dawnie.

Prayers and love will continue.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

One thought on “Remembering Ron’s Brother

Leave a Reply

