Too many open tabs

That illustration describes me. My mind is jumbled with several to do lists. Everday is a checklist of what has to be done before the “GREAT MOVE”. That how it is said in our home with emphasis and urgency.

There are still the day to day things to do, the packing, sorting, making phone calls, dealing with tears, goodbyes and two children whose moods fluctuate more often than I thought possible.  We have made t but it seems the calendar is rushing days quickly together.

The to do list seems to grow and not shrink. Every time we box something in the Princess’ room, 4 more things jump out. She says they aren’t ready to go. And that reads, “Mommy, I am not ready to go.” Then in the next breath, we get a litany of what all she wants to do when we get to our place.

The fourteen year old Casonova, who changes girls like underwear, decided to get another girlfriend 11 days before we move. And like the other 2 girlfriends, who are the only one who understands him, he can’t move. He is refusing, tell me he doesn’t have to go. Boy is he in for a surprise. I guess if I use his phone as bait, he will follow it.

Ron is the usual rock. Packing, loading and fixing. He takes care of us and only “fights” with the teen Casanova once every few hours. Teen thinks we are dumb and he knows more.

I am still finishing up things in the office. Emotional at times as I do this or that last thing. I find I am even more emotional since the stroke which makes the ” until we meet again” stuff difficult. There are people I have truly loved and will deeply miss.

Yet there is a excitement of a new home, being close to family and the challenge of a new church and only one church. There is the dreams of holidays with family, my children bonding with family and sharing memories.

My tabs are open for work, calls to switch things to the new house, continued packing, final appointments, last clown appearance,  last services, exit interiew, so long parties….etc etc

I need to close the tab labeled go to sleep and rest for tomorrow will soon be here. 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

