A Quiet House

“Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.”

It is both comforting and strange when the house becomes still. The voices have quited, there is no stomping up and down the stairs. Even the dogs are not barking or howling with the sirens when they go wizzing by our busy side street.

This is the time that I like to claim as my own. To write my thoughts ( those that go unseen), to read my Bible, pray and at times share with you all. The quiet can be lonely or comforting.

I love to peak into the children’s room and see my rapidly nonstop moving children in peaceful rest. I would like to think they sleep so well because they feel safe. Sometimes I go back to my bedroom just to hear the soft steady breaths of my husband. In these times the weight of being a husband, father and caregiver is released from his shoulders.

In the quiet of our new home I find a calm and comfort. This house feels like a home even with many boxes still to unpack. One floor is done and now we begin to complete the move, room by room. 

I sat earlier in my dining room, looking out at the tall pine trees and realizing that they are God’s creation. His mark of time. These trees soar and must be old. The stories they must have. In the whispers of the night they hold their own majestic beauty. 

Life right now is good. Not great but good. We still have to battle with the moving company (oh joy), we are still grieving the loss of our fur baby Minnie and helping the kiddos make this their home. 

They both are beginning to like the area and their schools. It has been an adjustment for them, to go to a small town with no stoplights to one where their is literally one on every corner. The love the number of places you can go and not have to ride in a vehicle for 45 minutes to an hour.

Ron is flourishing. He loves to be Uncle Ronnie. He loves to be with his family. Wednesday nights are football nights watching his great great nephew play. That has become a family night. Ron joking and laughing with his nieces and Rose playing with her little cousins. I love going as I enjoy the camaraderie and gentle teasing.

And me? I am working hard. Putting my energy into the church. I am trying to find my niche in the community.  We once a month use our church for “box day”.  This is where once a month a truck comes in from Pocatello with a box truck of  goods. They vary; frozen items, bread, dessert, canned items and packaged items. People go out with carts of food.

I was invited to go every Thursday to  Community Pentecostal Church to help there. They have commodities and donated food. I loved it. Plus I was able to be in fellowship with others that are part of the body of Christ.

I am praying God leads me to where he wants me to serve here. It has been amazing to see God at work with the church.  Each Sunday the attendance has increased. Not by huge numbers but a slow steady increase. I am allowed to have a lot of freedom with the building, worship and programming.  They look at me like I am nuts when I ask to do something. They tell me, you are the pastor. Please don’t get me wrong, there are checks and balances but I have a freedom to create.

We are adjusting, finding our rythm in the daily schedule and our lives here in this new land. We look at our trees, we see the rolling foothills that are bigger than the Missouri Ozarks and it is good. We will probably have some rough patches. But we will battle through those noises and distractions of life. When it is all said and done, we will return to the quiet of the night. In those moments, we will be still and know it is God’s hand guiding us.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

