Election Night

Tuesday,November 8, 2016. A day that will be a day in our history books. A day that will change our world no matters who win. 

I have decided to stay up until the final first announcement. I say the first as I see either candidate contesting the vote if they didn’t win. I see a hanging Chad moment or a computer glitch or accusations of cheating. 

I want to stay up so I am not surprised in the morning. I have been in prayer not for who will win but how this will effect our country. Everyone has strong feelings one way or another. There will be no graceful losers or winners.

The days of respecting the office of President has long faded. The days of agreeing to disagree are over. Those days have passed. We don’t hide the foibles or faults any longer. We are out there with our thoughts, opinions and even our anger.We embrace our Constitution and our Bill of Rights; or at least the parts we like. 

Our United States will change tomorrow morning. That is a given. The given is how we will change as a country. Will we work together? Will we let bygones be bygones and unite? Or will we be a divided nation?

We are already divided in so many ways; race, religion, sex, social issues, economic issues. What happened to one nation…we seem to be several mini nations that reside in the boundary lines drawn on a map.

I worry about this nation for my children, my grandchildren and future generations . Tonight I pray. Tonight I wait . 

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

