What this Election Will Mean for Me

Last night, I finally went to bed at midnight. My eyes would no longer stay open. I knew when I awoke history would be made. But unsure of what that history would be. I had definite opinions of the candidates and not really fond of either. But I knew it would change the world.

See I don’t do a party, there were things that each party was saying that I liked. Issues that I agreed with and disagreed with. I come from a family who hunts for food, a soldier, and a prison guard so I understand how they feel about their guns. I worry about losing Affordable Healthcare, if that goes away, how do I afford insurance and without that, I cannot afford insulin and my many meds that keep me going since my strokes. So this a great concern. Will Ron have to give up his social security to get a full time job with benefits?

I am a bit sick to my stomach. I am not sure if I can pinpoint the exact reason. I want America to be great again. We may gain jobs but what may be our cost to do so? We are a land of immigrants, do we need better controls on that and what might they be? Do we need a better look at foreign policy? Who do we befriend, who do we defriend? Will we look internally or externally? Did people vote not for either candidate but who would nominate the next Supreme Court judge? Did they just vote down party lines? (Sorry about the blue highlight, not sure how I put it there.) 

I have a pretty strong hunch how my older children voted. And I can say with certainty that they did not agree. Even the littles were on different teams. So some are happy happy and some are drinking themselves to the stage of blurriness.

I was taught to respect the office of the Presidency. I will do so but with trepidation and deep concern. I will pray for our President as I always have. I will continue to pray for our country and ALL our men, women and children. 

I didn’t like either candidate. I didn’t like them personally. I didn’t like what they stood for in many aspects. I didn’t care for how they attacked each other during the campaign. I didn’t like the ugliness and the accusations. This campaign was ugly. This campaign it was painful. It was unbelievable how two people can sink to the lowest of lows. It was unbelievable how we looked into the depths of their personal lives. It was unbelievable if you look at their past histories. It’s amazing how you looked at their current history. 

Today I am concerned and fearful of what is to come.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

