First of Everything in Idaho

Everything I am doing is another first. I have done many of these things in other places but everything now is my first in Idaho. Firsts are not always good nor are they bad they are just well firsts. 

I have taken my first (and I hope only) Idaho drivers test. I was one away from failing. I misses the question about livestock in the road. They did have to try six times to take my photo and only had to call Boise two times. But after two hours I was a licensed Idaho driver whose picture looks more like I was booked into jail.

I have become a pick up and drop off mom.At times being like those people I have scoffed. Arriving 30 minutes early to have a good place in line. I am now a parent who is in constant  (or so it feels) contact with the teachers and counselors. Often hearing on the phone from the school,  “how are you doing today?” And my response is, “Depends on why you are calling.”

I have experienced the new of a new church with each of us learning our rythmes and tempo. Sometimes discordant, sometimes melodic and sometimes off key. I have some who are content to find our stride and some who are afraid we will never find it. I pray and pray and often pray again. 

I have now experienced my first blizzard. 12″ in one day and whiteout conditions. I had not driven in this type snow since I lived in Finley, Washington in 1994. So it was new again. I didn’t want to seem wimpy to my Idaho family .  Another new thing they don’t have snow days, they have cold days. Two things I am not a huge fan of is cold and snow. Yes, I do know I moved to Idaho. The picture above was taken from our driveway looking toward our neighbors. His property starts where the trees are.

Apparently though my 15 year old has neither of those qualms as I came home to him shoveling snow today. Shoveling was a shock yes but also he was not wearing a hat, coat or gloves. He was also just wearing shorts. Yes it was a balmy 12 degrees but really dude.

Another new thing is that Rose has a friend. Not a make believe one but one who comes over to play and they go do thinges together.Today they went to a place called Battlezone. It has an area with multiple trampolines and an area for Nerf battles. The youth pastor in me perked up. I had images of some of my former youth having a heyday there.

Is new good or bad? It can be both. It’s all adaptation. Learning to like, to love or to tolerate the new. New is here. I can embrace it or hate. New may be uncomfortable but if you don’t embrace it, you are miserable. Life is too short to be miserable. 

Two dear people from my former church passed away. They had full lives filled with with good and bad. But what I learned from both of them was to pray, rejoice always, smile and let the Lord handle the hard stuff.

My new is just that new. It boils down to how I handle new.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

