Back from the Doctor 

You walk into the waiting room of Cardiologist office and you are  the youngest one in there. Then you’re given a bunch of forms to fill out. Forms that ask personal and intimate questions. Form that could be embarrassing. Forms looking back at family history. Forms for every med you take. Forms to keep privacy, forms to inform those who don’t have to be private. By the time you go back to see the doctor, you need to see another doctor for carpal tune from writer’s cramp.

The nurse was nice and funny. She asked about the ages of our children. When we said 15 and 11, she looked at us and said, “are you crazy!?”. That is one of the most honest responses we have received and we  burst out laughing.

Dr Sester came in, he was dressed in jeans, boots and a belt buckle. He introduced himself and then asked if we had a solution on poddy training a puppy, then he showed us an adorable pic on his phone of his golden doodle puppy. I was put at ease.  

He talked of coming here from Kentucky so he could fly fish. He said he liked the snow because it meant more water in the rivers. Plus he liked hiking and playing on 4 wheelers. At this Ron was put at ease. 

He did an initial exam and then got to business. My aorta aneurysm measures 4.9 to 5.0 cm. They usually operate and it is a big surgery. They would cool down the body and a bypass machine would be used. 
But he wanted a cardio catscan with contrast dye. The catscan that discovered this was a great catscan that caught this but wasn’t for the heart. Also he ordered an echo cardiogram and a nuclear stress test. Those will happen Monday and Tuesday.

If anyone wants to watch a stroke survivor with a wobbly left side that can’t walk a straight line, be on a treadmill I am selling tickets to defray medical costs.

I go back to see him on the 31st and then will see where we go from here. I did ask him if it could rupture…he gave me an analogy of a tire and multiple layers and a bulge it gets.  It can dissect but we don’t know if it will, when it will or how it ill.  That answer didn’t tell me anthing.

I was very quiet when we left. I was hoping to hear it was a mistake or it is small we won’t worry. I didn’t hear that and my super woman cape drooped a bit.

Frankly at times, reality bites.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

